The University of Southern Mississippi -- McCain Library and Archives
Historical Manuscripts Home
Alphabetical List of All Collections | Collections Listed By Subject


M246

The Hattiesburg Photographic Collection

Photographic Log

 

M246-1           Large Virgin Pine Tree near Hattiesburg

8X10               B&W               1904

Mr. Monroe Lott and Mr. Everett Lott with a large virgin pine tree cut in Lamar County for J. J. Newman Lumber Company. A log from it won a steam locomotive as a prize at the 1904 World’s Fair. (Box 1, Folder 1) Publication/ Exhibit History: Lamar Co. Heritage, Leonard Slade, Sr., Gateway Press, Inc. Baltimore, 1987 p.34 & Hattiesburg A Pictorial History, Ken McCarty p.3

 

M246-2           Logging Scene near Hattiesburg, Mississippi

3 X 4               B&W               ca. 1900

Large group of cattle amidst trees, overseen by riders on horseback. (Box 1, Folder 1)

Photographer: D.B. Henley

 

M246-3           Eight Wheel Log Wagon

4 X 6              B&W               Undated

Oxen-drawn, eight wheel log wagon with an unidentified person. (Box 1, Folder 1)

Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.12

 

M246-4           Unidentified Loggers at Work

5 X 7              B&W               Undated

Several men with saws amidst large piles of logs.  (Box 1, Folder 1)

Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.12

 

M246-5           Temple Hardware

8 X 10            B&W               ca. 1900

Temple Hardware store, corner of Main and Pine Streets, with men and children posed in front. (Box 1, Folder 1)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.14

 

M246-6           Carrying Cotton to Market

5 X 7              B&W               Undated
A large oxen-pulled wagon with 14 men posing in wagon for photograph. (Box 1, Folder 1)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.14

 

M246-7           Logging Scene near Hattiesburg, Mississippi

8 X 10            B&W               Undated
Scene of a team of oxen pulling an 8-wheel wagon laden with six large logs in the forest. (Box 1, Folder 1)

 

M246-8           J. J. Newman Lumber Company:  Bird's Eye View

5 X 7              B&W               Undated
An aerial view of The J. J. Newman Lumber Company in Hattiesburg, depicting a large factory with smoke stacks, encircled by a flowing river delivering logs. (Box 1, Folder 1)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.18

 

M246-9           Watkins Machine and Foundry Company

5 X 6              B&W               Undated

Photograph of Watkins Machine and Foundry Company located on Mobile and 2nd Streets. Twelve men pose beside a railroad or trolley car in front of the building.  A sign on the front reads “Locomotive & Sawmill Machinery Repaired.” (Box 1, Folder 1)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.19

 

M246-10         Clyde Two-Line Skidder at work

5X 7    B&W               Undated
Photograph of a Clyde two-line skidder machine operating in an area of cleared forest. This machine could drag logs to the railhead from half a mile away. (Box 1, Folder 1)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.20

 

M246-11         Employees, Directors, and Officers of the National Bank of Commerce

                        5 X 7               B&W               1907

Photograph of 15 men and one woman in front of the National Bank of Commerce in Hattiesburg. Those in the photo are identified in Hattiesburg:  A Pictorial History, page 22. (Box 1, Folder 2)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.22

 

M246-12         National Bank of Commerce
                        5 X 7               B&W               1907

Interior view of the National Bank of Commerce featuring several men and a young boy conducting transactions at service windows.
(Box 1, Folder 2)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.23

 

M246-13         People’s Bank
                        5 X 7              B&W               1905-1907

Front façade of the People’s Bank located on Mobile Street in Hattiesburg, Mississippi.  The bank was owned and operated by African-Americans.
(Box 1, Folder 2)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.23

 

M246-14         Hattiesburg Grocery Company
                        5 X 7              B&W               ca. 1900

Photograph of Hattiesburg Grocery Company on Second Street, with several men standing on the front porch, and another pulled up front in a horse and buggy. (Box 1, Folder 2)

 

M246-15         Limbaugh & Price Fancy Groceries
                        5 X 7              B&W               ca. 1900

The Limbaugh & Price Store was located on 4th Street. Several horse and ox-drawn wagons, and one horse-drawn buggy are pictured in front of the store, while several men are crowded on the front porch. (Box 1, Folder 2)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.24

 

M246-16         Odd Fellows Convention
                        5 X 7              B&W               ca. 1904

Photograph of the elaborately decorated four-story Odd Fellows Hall, with banners reading “Welcome Brothers” and a flag that reads “I.O.O.F. Grand Lodge Mississippi.” (Box 1, Folder 2)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.26

 

M246-17         Bonhomie & Hattiesburg Southern Railroad Locomotive
                        4 X 2               B&W               Undated

Photograph of steam locomotive number 300, belonging to the Bonhomie and Hattiesburg Southern Railroad. (Box 1, Folder 2)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.26

 

M246-18         Hotel Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W              1906

Photograph of the large Hotel Hattiesburg on the corner of Mobile and Pine Streets. (Box 1, Folder 2)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.27

 

M246-19         Front Street Looking South from the Palace Restaurant
                        5 X 9              B&W               ca. 1904

Photograph of an unpaved Front Street lined with buildings and shops on both sides. Dozens of people are in the streets and on the sidewalks.
(Box 1, Folder 2)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.28-29

 

M246-20         Hotel Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated

Artist’s depiction of the Hotel Hattiesburg. The inscription at the bottom of the photograph reads “The Hotel Hattiesburg, Great Southern Hotel Co., Props. George Clark, General Manager, Barnard Chotard, Resident Manager.” (Box 1, Folder 2)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.30

 

M246-21         Hotel Hattiesburg Opening Banquet
                        5 X 7               B&W               1906

Twenty-two men seated at a large table enjoy the banquet celebrating the opening of the Hotel Hattiesburg. Among the attendees were E. E. Conner, Dr. T. E. Ross, Sr., Herman Katz, Dr. Rush, Emmett McInnis, and Virgil Jones. (Box 1, Folder 3)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.30

 

M246-22         Hotel Hattiesburg Opening Day Program
                        5 X 7               B&W               1906

Lovely twentieth century decoration around a portrait of Captain J. T. Jones. Program cover reads: “Banquet tendered by the Commercial Club of Hattiesburg, Miss. to Captain J. T. Jones at the opening of the Hotel Hattiesburg on Wednesday November the twenty-first, nineteen hundred and six.” (Box 1, Folder 3)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.31

 

M246-23         Menu from the Banquet Celebrating the Opening of The Hotel Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               1906

Menu listing southern delicacies served to guests the night of the opening of the Hotel Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 3)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.31

 

M246-24         Hotel Hattiesburg Grand Opening Musical Program
                        5 X 4               B&W               1906

Musical program performed by the Great Southern Hotel Orchestra for the opening of the Hotel Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 3)

 

M246-25         Hotel Hattiesburg Opening: List of Toasts
                        5 X 5               B&W               1906

List of toasts and toast makers, led by J. P. Carter, toastmaster. (Box 1, Folder 3)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.31

 

M246-26         Klondyke Hotel
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated

Interior view of the front desk of the old Klondkye Hotel, later known as the Leaf Hotel. (Box 1, Folder 3)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.32

 

M246-27         Main Street, Looking East
                        3X4, 5X8, 8X10         B&W               1906
                        (Box 1, Folder 3)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.32

 

M246-28         Pine Street, Looking East from Main Street
                        4 X 7              B&W               ca. early 1900s

(Box 1, Folder 3)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.33

 

M246-29         Main Street
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1912
                        View of Main Street, looking north. (Box 1, Folder 3)

 

M246-30         Main Street
                        6 X 9               B&W               1904

Bustling street scene, with crowds and horse-drawn wagons.
(Box 1, Folder 3)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.34

 

M246-31         Kennedy Building and Citizens Bank Building
                        5 X 7               B&W               1906

The Kennedy Building, home of Kennedy and Batson Real Estate, and Hayes and Field Drug and Book Store, is on the left.  The building on the right is Citizens Bank, on the southwest corner of Main and Front Streets in Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.34

 

M246-32         Fire near Corner of Front and Main Streets
                        5 X 7               B&W               1907

Fire engulfs the Kennedy Building on Main Street. Dozens of people gather to watch it being fought by firemen.(Box 1, Folder 4)
Photographer: Henley
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.35

 

M246-33         Kennedy Building and Citizens Bank after 1907 Fire.
                        5 X 7               B&W               1907

(Box 1, Folder 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.35

 

M246-34         Flood near J. J. Newman Lumber Company

5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1900

Photograph of severe flooding near the J. J. Newman Lumber Company, Hattiesburg, Mississippi. (Box 1, Folder 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.36

 

M246-35         Flood on Short Bay Street and River Avenue
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1900

Photo of severe flooding of the Short Bay Street and River Avenue area. (Box 1, Folder 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.36

 

M246-36         Main Street in Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1907

This postcard image portrays the west side of Main Street, between Front and Pine Streets. Business establishments pictured are the Davidson Company, Conner Shoe Company, First National Bank of Commerce, and The Carter Building. (Box 1, Folder 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.37

 

M246-37         Yellow Pine Drug Store
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1907

Interior view of the Yellow Pine Drug Store, corner of Pine and Mobile Streets, with three gentlemen at the soda fountain counter.
(Box 1, Folder 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.37

 

M246-38         Bird's Eye View of Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               1908

Aerial view of Hattiesburg, looking north on Main Street from Buschman Street. (Box 1, Folder 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.38

 

M246- 39        Meridian Fertilizer Factory
                        2 X 6 ½           B&W               Undated

The Meridian Fertilizer Factory, located on East 7th Street in Hattiesburg, Mississippi. (Box 1, Folder 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.39

 

M246-40         O’Ferrall’s Store Fourth of July Float
                        5 X 7               B&W               July 4, 1906

O’Ferrall’s horse-drawn float was the winning entry in Hattiesburg's 1906 Fourth of July parade. The float is parked in front of O’Ferrall’s Ladies Furnishings. (Box 1, Folder 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.43

 

M246-41         Railroad Street, between Main and Short Streets
                        3 ½ X 6 ½       B&W               ca. 1910

Pictured are the Hotel Weidmann, D. B. Henley Photo Studio, and the Century Drug Store. D. B. Henley took many of the early Hattiesburg Photographs. (Box 1, Folder 5)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.43

 

M246-42         Churches of Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1908

Artist's drawings of eight early Hattiesburg Churches.
(Box 1, Folder 5)
Photographer: Published by Hays & Fields
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.44

 

M246-43         Baptism in Gordon’s Creek
                        4 X 7               B&W               ca. 1908

Baptism performed by Rev. A. L. O’Briant of Immanuel Baptist Church, in Gordon’s Creek.  (Box 1, Folder 5)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.44

 

M246-44         Immanuel Baptist Church Meeting

                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1908

A large tent shades hundreds of people attending a service. Immanuel Baptist Church, organized in 1907, met in this tent at the corner of Arledge Street and Magnolia Avenue until the first building was constructed in 1909. (Box 1, Folder 5)
Photographer: D.B. Henley
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.45

 

M246-45         Early Hattiesburg School Buildings
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1910

Artist's drawings of five early Hattiesburg Schools. Featured are Court Street, Fourth Ward, Hardy Street, Main Street and Third Ward Schools. (Box 1, Folder 5)
Photographer: Published by Hays & Fields
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.46

 

M246-46         Baseball Park
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s

Baseball park located near site of the present day Willmut Gas & Oil Company on South Main Street. (Box 1, Folder 5)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.47

 

M246-47         Thomas James Williams
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca.1903-1907

Thomas James Williams served as a Hattiesburg policeman from 1903-1907. (Box 1, Folder 5)

 

M246-48         Hattiesburg Fire Department
                        5 X 7               B&W               1909

A large number of uniformed firemen pose in the street with their horse-drawn carriages. (Box 1, Folder 5)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.49

 

M246-49         Ralph Lewis and Helpers with Ice Wagon
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1914

One adult African-American male and two African-American adolescent males, with a horse-drawn Hattiesburg Ice & Coal Company wagon in the street of an upper class residential area. The adult male is identified as Ralph "Rab" Lewis. (Box 1, Folder 5)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.50

 

M246-50         Ross Building
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1900

Photo of a brick structure known as the Ross Building.  A sign indicated “Drugs & Medicines” could be found within. Several well-dressed males stand around the entrance. This building was located on the corner of Front and Short Streets. It burned in about 1900. (Box 1, Folder 5)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.21

 

M246-51         Dr. John Gillis
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. late 1800s

Formal portrait of Dr. John Gillis, Hattiesburg’s first physician, who began his practice in 1882, and opened an office on West Front Street in 1884. (Box 1, Folder 6)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.51

 

M246-52         Hattiesburg Hospital
                        5 ½ X 6 ½       B&W               ca. 1908-1913

Photo of the Hattiesburg Hospital (later, the Methodist Hospital) with doctors and nurses standing in the entrance. (Box 1, Folder 6)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.51

 

M246-53         Office of Sullivan and Tally, Attorneys-at-Law
                        3 ½ X 4 ½, 8 X 10      B&W               ca. early 1900s

Interior view of the Sullivan and Tally law office. Pictured are Daniel E. Sullivan (left), John R. Tally, and Miss Ida Cowart. The office was in the Elks Building on Main Street. (Box 1, Folder 6)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.52-53

 

M246-54         Hattiesburg Hospital
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1908

Doctors, nurses, military personnel, and patients outside tents on the grounds of the Hattiesburg Hospital after the 1908 Purvis tornado.
(Box 1, Folder 6)
Photographer: Henley
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.54

 

M246-55         South Mississippi Infirmary
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1905

Front view of the South Mississippi Infirmary on Walnut Street. The facility was owned and operated by Dr.W.W. Crawford. (Box 1, Folder 6)
Photographer: Copyrighted by D.B. Henley
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.54

 

M246-56         Dr. T. E. Ross, Sr.
                        4 X 6               B&W               ca. late 1800s - early 1900s

Formal Portrait of Dr. Theophilus Erskine "T. E." Ross, Sr., owner of the Ross Building.  Dr. Ross practiced medicine in Hattiesburg from 1892-1935. (Box 1, Folder 6)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.54

 

M246-57         Hattiesburg Physicians
                        3 X 4 ½           B&W               ca. 1908

Photo of twenty physicians posed together in front of tents, probably on the grounds of Hattiesburg Hospital after the 1908 Purvis Tornado.  Several of the physicians are identified on page 55 of Hattiesburg:  A Pictorial History. (Box 1, Folder 6)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.55

 

M246-58         Hattiesburg Hospital
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1915

Front view of the Hattiesburg Hospital at the end of Bay street. The X-ray and Dispensary Department is pictured next door. (Box 1, Folder 6)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.56

 

M246-59         Bay Street Looking North from Hattiesburg Hospital
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1910-1920

Two early model automobiles are parked in the foreground of this image.
(Box 1, Folder 6)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.56

 

M246-60         Quint Orr at the Wheel of his Stanley Steamer
                        3 X 4 ½, 8 X 10          B&W   ca. 1915
                        Quint Orr and passenger pose on Railroad Street in his Stanley Steamer automobile, while spectators with a bicycle and a horse-drawn wagon look on. This was one of the first automobiles in Hattiesburg. (Box1, Folder 6)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.57

 

M246-61         South Bay Street with Trolley Car Line
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        South Bay Street featuring trolley car in operation next to horse-drawn buggies. (Box 1, Folder 7)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.58

 

M246-62         Looking North on Bay Street
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1915-1920
                        Imposing homes line both sides of Bay Street. (Box 1, Folder 7)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.59

 

M246-63         McLeod and Tatum Homes
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        Residential section of North Main Street, showing the John A. McLeod and W. S. F. Tatum mansions. The McLeod home is on the left, and the Tatum home is on the right. (Box 1, Folder 7)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.59

 

M246-64         Carter Building
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1910
                        Exterior of the six-story Carter Building on the corner of Main and Front Streets in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 7)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.60

 

M246-65         West Pine Street
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1915
                        In this view of West Pine Street, Trinity Episcopal Church is on the left, and the Emmett McInnis Home is on the right. (Box 1, Folder 7)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.60

 

M246-66         Advertisement for Sale of Land
                        5 X 7               B&W               1912
                        An advertisement for the sale of J. J. Newman Lumber Company land at $10 per acre. The ad was produced by E. A. Cummings & Company of Chicago. (Box 1, Folder 7)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.61

 

M246-67         Captain William Harris Hardy
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1903
                        Formal portrait of Captain William Harris Hardy, founder of Hattiesburg, Mississippi. (Box 1, Folder 7)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.62

 

M246-68         Oliver Hazzard Perry Jones
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 188s
                        Formal portrait of Oliver Hazzard Perry Jones, first mayor of Hattiesburg. He served from 1884-1885. (Box 1, Folder 7)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.62

 

M246-69         J. P. Carter
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Formal portrait of Captain J. P. Carter, former Lt. Governor of Mississippi and Second President of The National Bank of Commerce in Hattiesburg. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 7; Negative in Box 4).
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.63

 

M246-70         J. D. Donald
                        5 X 7, 4 X 5                B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Formal portrait of Dr. J. D. Donald, Mayor of Hattiesburg from 1907-1911. Dr. Donald was one of Hattiesburg's early physicians.  In Hattiesburg:  A Pictorial History, page 63, Dr. Donald's initials were inadvertently reversed. (Box 1, Folder 7)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.63

 

M246-71         W. S. F. Tatum
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Formal Portrait of W. S. F. (Willie Sion Franklin) Tatum, mayor of Hattiesburg from 1922-1925, and 1929-1937.  Mr. Tatum was also the owner of Tatum Lumber Company.
                        (Image and Oversize Negative in Box 1, Folder 8)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.63

 

M246-72         Construction of The Emmett McInnis Home
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1911
                        Photo of the Emmett McInnis house under construction on the corner of Pine Street and First Avenue. Eleven workers are posed in front.
                        (Box 1, Folder 8)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.64-65

 

M246-73         William M. Duke, John B. Duke, and Friends
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        William M. Duke (at left, on running board), John B. Duke (standing with hand on car), and three unidentified friends posed outside their early model automobile on a tree-lined dirt road. (Box 1, Folder 8)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.66

 

M246-74         General Leonard Wood and Congressman Byron "Pat" Harrison
                        5 X 7               B&W               July 2, 1917
                        General Wood and Congressman Harrison stand with a crowd of people during a visit to Hattiesburg, Mississippi. (Box 1, Folder 8)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.76-77

 

M246-75         Accident on South Main Street in Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1926
                        This photo shows South Main Street busy with streetcar and automobile activity. Across the bridge on the right is a truck that has been involved in an accident. (Box 1, Folder 8)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.80

 

M246-76         Miss Elbert Cooper with a Model "T" Ford
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Miss Elbert Cooper attempts to crank a Model "T" Ford in the street of an upscale residential area. (Box 1, Folder 8)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.80

 

M246-77         J. J. Newman Lumber Company Employees
                        5 X 7               B&W               1917
                        Dozens of Caucasian and African-American employees pose in front of a Newman Lumber Company building. (Box 1, Folder 8)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.81

 

M246-78         Hattiesburg High School Baseball Team
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917
                        Team members are posed with their equipment. (Box 1, Folder 8)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.81

 

M246-79         S. H. Kress Store
                        5 X 7               B&W               1915
                        Sales clerks pose inside the S. H. Kress Store on Main Street in downtown Hattiesburg.  Third from right is Ester Lee Camp, and fourth from right is Pearl Hardin Bundy. (Box 1, Folder 8)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.82

 

M246-80         Curry Brothers Grocery
                        5 X 7               B&W               1921

                         Interior of Curry Brothers Grocery, located on the corner of West Pine and Hemphill Streets. It was owned by Charles Frank Curry, Sr. (Box 1, Folder 8)

 

M246-81         Public Health Service:  Dr. Sweet and Nurse
                        5 X 7               B&W               1918

                         Dr. Sweet and a nurse from the Public Health Service at work during the influenza epidemic of 1918. (Box 1, Folder 9)

                         Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.83

 

M246-82         Dental Hygiene Class
                        5 X 7, 6 X 7 ½            B&W               1918-19

                         Dental hygiene is demonstrated for first and second graders in Hattiesburg by an unidentified Red Cross Nurse. Miss Kate Brown, the teacher, is on the extreme left in the back row. (Box 1, Folder 9)

                         Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.83

 

M246-83         Train Arriving at Camp Shelby
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917-1919
                        Onlookers watch as a train pulls in to Camp Shelby during World War I.
                        (Box 1, Folder 9)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.84

 

M246-84         Camp Shelby Train
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917-1919
                        Train stopped at Camp Shelby where several passengers await.
                        (Box 1, Folder 9)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.84

 

M246-85         Harry Neal with Children of Dr. L. B. Hudson
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1919

                         The five children of Dr. L. B. Hudson pose with Harry Neal on the back of an automobile shortly after WWI. (Box 1, Folder 9)

                         Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.84

 

M246-86         First Airplane to Land at Camp Shelby
                        5 X 7               B&W               1917

                        Several uniformed men surround the first airplane to land at Camp Shelby, in 1917. (Box 1, Folder 9)

                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.85

 

M246-87         Guards on Leaf River Bridge
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917-1919

Guards from Camp Shelby posted at the railroad bridge over Leaf River to protect it from sabotage during WWI. Several young boys are in the foreground of the image. (Box 1, Folder 9)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.85

 

M246-88         Camp Shelby Tent Housing
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917-1919

Tent housing at Camp Shelby during WWI. Several African American women and children are pictured among the tents. (Box 1, Folder 9)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.86

 

M246-89         Spraying for Mosquitoes
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s

African-American men spray chemicals into a ditch.  Several nearby buildings appear to be unoccupied. (Box 1, Folder 9)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.86

 

M246-90         Mammoth Springs Hotel
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1910

Photo of hotel at Mammoth Springs, near Hattiesburg, Mississippi. Pictured are a large two-story hotel with porch and balcony, and one cottage. The structures burned down ca. 1915 and were never rebuilt.
(Box 1, Folder 9)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.87

 

M246-91         Panoramic View of Tents at Camp Shelby
                        3 ½ X 15         B&W               ca. 1917-1919

                          Panoramic view of row after row of tents at Camp Shelby. (Box 1, Folder 10)

                          Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.88-89

 

M246-92         Rows of Soldiers March at Camp Shelby
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1917-1919
                        Panoramic view of soldiers marching at Camp Shelby during WWI.
                        (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 10; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.88-89

 

M246-93         152nd Infantry at Camp Shelby
                        5 X 7               B&W               November 1917

Members of the 152nd Infantry during World War I.  Some are on horseback and others are on foot. (Box 1, Folder 10)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.88-89

 

M246-94         Celebrating the End of World War I
                        6 X 18             B&W                           1919

A huge crowd of Hattiesburg citizens gathered in the Southern Railway area around Main and Newman Streets to celebrate the end of the war.
(Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 10;  Oversize photo in map case.)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.12
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.90

 

M246-95         Hattiesburg Coca-Cola Bottling Company
                        5 X 7, 8 X 10              B&W               1920s

Photo of Hattiesburg Coca-Cola Bottling Company on Mobile Street with several automobiles, horse-drawn wagons, and carriages outside.
(Box 1, Folder 10)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.91

 

M246-96         Hardy Street School
                        6 X 7               B&W               1920

Photo of the large, brick Hardy Street School with dozens of students and teachers posed on the porch, steps, and balcony. The school later became Camp School. (Box 1, Folder 10)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.92

 

M246-97         Hattiesburg High School Football Team
                        5 X 7               B&W               1922

Hattiesburg High School football team of 1922 in formation to center the ball.  The team was declared a co-holder of the state championship by Mississippi sports editors.  Other co-holders were Laurel and Meridian. (Box 1, Folder 10)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.93

 

M246-98         Komp Manufacturing Company
                        5 X 7               B&W               1924

Two workers inside the Komp Manufacturing Company, which manufactured parts for lumber mills.  The workers are master machinist, G. H. McElhaney, and a Mr. Donald. (Box 1, Folder 10)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.94

 

M246-99         Enterprise Foundry
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s

Sixteen employees posed outside the Enterprise Foundry on East Second Street.  Included in the photo are “Dad” Buzzle (back row, left), Tory Harper (back row, 4th from left), and E. J. Stewart (front row, 2nd from left). (Box 1, Folder 10)

Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.94

 

M246-100       Barron Motor Company
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1920s

Employees pose with new Ford automobiles in front of Barron Motors. A lone horse and wagon can be seen in the distance.
(Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 10; negative in Box 4)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.95

 

M246-101       H. E. Bro Auto Accessory Store
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s

Interior view of the H.E. Bro Auto Accessory Store on East Pine Street. Stanford Gunn, Sr., Lamar Bro, Eli Bro, and Peter Bro are in the store. (Box 1, Folder 11)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.95

 

M246-102       Overstreet Veneer Company
                        3 ½ X 5           B&W               ca. late 1920s

Overstreet Veneer Company on 7th Street, was owned by James H. Overstreet, George Calhoun, & Robert McCaughey. (Box 1, Folder 11)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.96

 

M246-103       Hulett Undertaking Company
                        3 ½ X 5           B&W               1920

The Hulett Undertaking Company was located on the corner of Eaton and Forrest Streets. When the company moved to Bay Street, this building was converted to a Sinclair service station. (Box 1, Folder 11)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.96

 

M246-104       Sinclair Service Station
                        3 ½ X 5           B&W               ca. 1930s

Located on the corner of Eaton and Forrest Streets, this site was formerly occupied by Hulett Undertaking Company. (Box 1, Folder 11)
Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.96

 

M246-105       Dedication of the Hattiesburg Airport
                        5 X 7               B&W               September 23, 1930
                        A large group of well-dressed citizens for the dedication of the Hattiesburg Airport, “Mississippi’s Finest Harbor of the Sky.” (Box 1, Folder 11)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.98

 

M246-106       Lakeview Park
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        This view of the park features the lake, a series of arched footbridges, and tree-shaded buildings in the background. (Box 1, Folder 11)
                         Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.99

 

M246-107       Mrs. Richard Turner, Mrs. Frank Tatum Sr., and Mrs. Shelby Pickett at Lakeview Park
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Three prominent Hattiesburg ladies are standing on one of the footbridges at Lakeview Park, which was a popular recreational spot prior to World War II. (Box 1, Folder 11)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.99

 

M246-108       W. L. Stewart Sitting in a Goat-Drawn Wagon
                        Negative only              B&W               1926
                        W.L. Stewart had his picture taken in 1926 by a travelling photographer who supplied the hat and jacket he is wearing, as well as the goat and wagon. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 11; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.100-102

 

M246-109       Saenger Theatre
                        6 ½ X 10         B&W               1931
                        Goodyear Tire Exhibit:  A huge Goodyear tire is attached to the rear of a car parked in front of the Saenger Theatre in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 11)

                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.102

 

M246-110       Three Men with a Log Truck
                        5 X 7               B&W               1936
                        Log truck loaded with three huge logs parked near the Turner and Sons Building.  The man standing on the left is L. C. P. Mason, and an unidentified man is standing beside him.  Obie Mason is in the driver's seat. (Box 1, Folder 11)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.103

 

M246-111       Tom Day’s Barber Shop
                        5 X 7               B&W               1930s
                        Business was booming at Tom Day’s Barber Shop on Front Street when this photo was taken. (Box 1, Folder 12)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.103

 

M246-112       Mississippi Central Railroad Baseball Team
                        5 X 7               B&W               1926
                        YMCA Twilight Baseball League, Mississippi Central Railroad Team, 1926. Pictured are: (back row) Dillard Hill, Kenneth Rawls, Smokie Harrington, Carl Wilder, Roy Ruble, Charlie Burks, and Kermit Massengale (front row) Francis Doherty, James Harrington, Paul Tally, Norman Alexander, and Raymond Dunigan. (Box 1, Folder 12)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.107

 

M246-113       YMCA Gym Class
                        Negative Only             B&W               1937
                        Large group of young boys pose in gym suits.  Several are holding balls. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 12; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.110

 

M246-114       YMCA State Junior Basketball Champions
                        5 X 7               B&W               1939
                        State Champions, YMCA Junior Basketball (125 lbs. or under, 16 years of age or less), 1939. They are identified as: (front) John McLain, Jr. and Cecil Jones, (middle) Milton Evans, Pat Howell, Roland Heidelberg, and Claude Pittman, Jr., (back row) Leslie Sessions, Jack Gandy, and Jack Oden. Jack Gandy was YMCA director for many years. (Box 1, Folder 12)
                         Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.110

 

M246-115       Destroying Moonshine Whiskey
                        5 X 7               B&W               1939
                        Hattiesburg Police officer Carl Autry and a prisoner pose in front of several barrels, bottles, and jugs of moonshine that are being destroyed. (Box 1, Folder 12)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.110

 

M246-116       YMCA Teams of the Friendly Indian League
                        Negative Only             B&W               1935
                        Six teams of youngsters who competed in the YMCA’s Friendly Indian League in the summer of 1935. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 12; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.112-113

 

M246-117       Camp Shelby:  Second Avenue
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        This view of Second Avenue at Camp Shelby features wooden buildings and tents, with a lone soldier walking down the street. (Box 1, Folder 12)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.114

 

M246-118       Camp Shelby:  A Company Street
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Soldiers stand at attention in front of tents at Camp Shelby.
                        (Box 1, Folder 12)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.114

 

M246-119       Camp Shelby:  Aerial View
                        5 X 7               B&W               1941
                        Aerial view of the “progress of construction” at Camp Shelby.
                        (Box 1, Folder 12)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.115

 

M246-120       Soldier and His Girlfriend
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Unidentified soldier with his arm around a young woman.
                        (Box 1, Folder 12)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.115

 

M246-121       Soldiers at the First Baptist Church Service Center
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Nine unidentified soldiers pose beside the First Baptist Church Service Center in Hattiesburg during WWII. (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.115

 

M246-122       Hostesses at the First Baptist Church Service Center
                        5 X 7, 7 X 9                B&W               June, 1943
                        Four young women are posed in front of the Service Center.
                        (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.116

 

M246-123       Dance for Soldiers at USM
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1943-44
                        Soldiers in uniform dancing with girls in formal gowns at the University of Southern Mississippi. (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.116

 

M246-124       Red Cross Parade
                        8 X 10             B&W               Spring, 1943
                        Marching Band in Red Cross Parade on Main Street in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.117

 

M246-125       Sixth War Bonds Parade
                        8 X 10             B&W               December 7, 1944
                        School children marching with “Buy War Bonds” banners in the Sixth War Bonds parade on Main Street in downtown Hattiesburg.
                        (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.118

 

M246-126       Hattiesburg Police Officers
                        5 X 7               B&W               1942
                        Police officers who attended the 1942 FBI War Traffic and Civil Defense School are posed on the steps of City Hall.  Pictured are: E.D. Boone, Ray Leg, Chief M.M. Little, Doyle Harvison, Hugh Herring, M.L. Davis, and A.J. Combs. (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.119

 

M246-127       Komp Equipment Company During WWII
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Women manufacturing ammunition at Komp Equipment Company in Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.119

 

M246-128       Camp Shelby:  German POW Cartoon
                        5 X 7 ½           B&W               1940s
                        “Inspektion in Sicht!”:  A cartoon showing German prisoners of war cleaning a military camp. (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.120

 

M246-129       German POWs at Camp Shelby During WWII
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        German prisoners of war sit on the outside steps of their quarters at Camp Shelby. (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.120

 

M246-130       German POW Orchestra in Concert
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        German prisoners of war perform an outdoor concert at Camp Shelby.
                        A lookout tower is in the background. (Box 1, Folder 13)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.121

 

M246-131       Eureka High School Basketball Team
                        5 X 7               B&W               1941
                        This team won the State Basketball Championship in 1941.  The team is pictured in uniform on the basketball court. At that time, Eureka was an all African-American school. (Box 1, Folder 14)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.122

 

M246-132       Eureka High School Football Team
                        5 X 7               B&W               1941
                        The Eureka High School football team was undefeated in 1941.  They are posed in uniform outside the school. (Box 1, Folder 14)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.122

 

M246-133       Camp Shelby Public Relations Officer, Major Casteel
                        5 X 7, 8 X 10              B&W               1940s
                        Major Casteel stands on a platform to speak to a Hattiesburg audience. Among those seated on the platform are (l-r):  Mr. N. R. Burger, Mayor George M. Calhoun, and Rev. J. H. Ratcliff (fourth from right). (Box 1, Folder 14)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.123

 

M246-134       Human Relations Committee
                        5 X 7, 8 X 10  B&W               1940s
                        The purpose of the Human Relations Committee was to promote voting rights and media use of titles when identifying African American citizens. Included in the photo are:  (l-r, front row) Mrs. A. N. Burger, Dr. Luther Smith, Dr. A. N. Dent, Percy Abrams, and Dr. A. N. Jackson; (second Row) Mrs. Florine Lane, Mrs. S. K. Triggs, Paul Weston, and the Rev. Mr. Thorton; (top row) Mrs. Abernice Newman, Mrs. Rubye Bell, Mrs. Brookie Young, Rev. J. H. Ratcliff, and N. R. Burger. (Box 1, Folder 14)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.123

 

M246-135       Forrest County Health Center
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Doctors and nurses connected with the Forrest County Health Center during WWII posed outside the Center.  Included are (bottom row, l-r):  Dr. Miller, Mrs. Bailey, Dr. Blackwelder, Mrs. Norris, and a camp Shelby health officer;  (top row, l-r):  Dr. Luther Smith, Dr. Brown, Dr. Love, Dr. Crain, and Dr. Charles W. Smith. (Box 1, Folder 14)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.123

 

M246-136       Komp Equipment Company During WWII
                        6 X 6 ½           B&W               1940s
                        Two unidentified women stand at machines making .50 caliber ammunition at Komp Equipment Company. (Box 1, Folder 14)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.124-125

 

M246-137       Homecoming Parade on Main Street
                        Negative only              B&W               1950s
                        Large crowd near the Golden Rule Bargain House on Main Street views a “Sail to Victory” float during a 1950s Mississippi Southern College Homecoming parade. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 14; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.128

 

M246-138       First National Bank
                        5 X 7               B&W               1945
                        Front façade of the First National Bank on Main Street, with bank employees, officers, and directors posed outside the front entrance. (Box 1, Folder 14)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.128

 

M246-139       Travelers Aid Office
                        8 X 10             B&W               1946
                        Travelers' Aid agent, Mrs. T.W. Burdette, assists a family in need. (Box 1, Folder 14)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.134

 

M246-140       Service Station
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Exterior view of United Oil Corporation service station located on the corner of Market and Batson Streets. (Box 1, Folder 14)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.135

 

M246-141       Hattiesburg Junior High School Homecoming Court
                        5 X 7               B&W               1947
                        Included in the photo are:  (l-r) Martha Barron, unidentified young man, Jane Carol Yelverton, Gene Allen, Sara Ellen Kamper, and Walter Rhian. (Box 1, Folder 15)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.135

 

M246-142       Hattiesburg Chamber of Commerce Directors
                        5 X 7               B&W               1947
                        Directors are identified on the back of the photograph. (Box 1, Folder 15)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.138

 

M246-143       First Police Banquet
                        5 X 7               B&W               1947
                        Members of the Hattiesburg Police Department and their wives enjoy their first banquet. (Box 1, Folder 15)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.138

 

M246-144       Pepsi Cola Strike
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1940s - 1950s
                        Two roadside picketers wearing signs reading “Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company UNFAIR to organized labor.” (Box 1, Folder 15)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.139

 

M246-145       Bell Telephone Strike
                        8 X 10             B&W              ca. 1950s
                        A turtle carries a sign that reads “I am almost as slow as Bell System's wage offer.” (Box 1, Folder 15)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.139

 

M246-146       Hat Day at Donavan-Lane
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Nine gentlemen sport hats at Donavan-Lane men's store in downtown Hattiesburg.  The men are identified on back of the photograph. (Box 1, Folder 15)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.140

 

M246-147       Snow-Covered University of Southern Mississippi Campus
                        Negative Only             B&W               1948
                        Aerial view of the USM campus after the 1948 snow fall. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 2127. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 15; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.140

 

M246-148       Temporary Classrooms at USM
                        Negative Only                         B&W               ca. 1947
                        After World War II, the University of Southern Mississippi used army surplus buildings as temporary classrooms to accommodate the influx of new and returning students. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC2409. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 15; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.141

 

M246-149       Married Student Housing at USM:  Veteran’s Village
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1947
                        Prefabricated units comprised USM's "Veterans' Village" after WWII. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2: PC2408 (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 15; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.141

 

M246-150       Street Car to USM
                        Negative Only             B&W               1915
                        This streetcar ran from the intersection of Pine and Main Streets to Mississippi Normal College (now USM).  Students pictured from left to right are: Alberta Powe, Jeannette McCormick, Velma Morrison, Janie Sullivan, and Mabel Mixon. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 2283. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 15; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.142

 

M246-151       USM Football Team
                        Negative Only             B&W               1916
                        This USM (then Mississippi Normal College) Football Team, coached by A.B. Dille, won four games and lost four games. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 54. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 16; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.145

 

M246-152       Painted Curtain in College Hall Auditorium at USM
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1912
                        This painted curtain in the USM (then Mississippi Normal College) College Hall auditorium featured the progression of education from a one-room school to a modern two-story brick building. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 2113. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 16; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.146

 

M246-153       USM Tennis Club
                        Negative Only             B&W               1916-17
                        The USM (then Mississippi Normal College) Tennis Club was composed of both men and women.  A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 111. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 16; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.147

M246-154       USM Tomato Club
                        Negative Only             B&W               1914
                        Members of the USM (then Mississippi Normal College) Tomato Club are shown in the canning shed. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 224. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 16; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.147

 

M246-155       USM Campus, Viewed from the Southeast Corner
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1922
                        College Hall, Southern Hall, Hattiesburg Hall, Mississippi Hall, the Vice President's Home, and the President's Home, as seen from the intersection of what are now Hardy Street and Highway 49. (Box 1, Folder 16)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.149

 

M246-156       Alma Hickman
                        Photocopy Only         B&W               1916
                        Miss Alma Hickman, English teacher and member of the original faculty at Mississippi Normal College (now USM).  A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 852. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 16; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.150

 

M246-157       Primary Practice School in USM’s College Hall
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1912
                        Classroom in which student teachers received practical training at (then) Mississippi Normal College.  A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 2102. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 16; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.150

 

M246-158       World War I Memorial Car Station
                        Negative Only             B&W               1923
                        Funds for this memorial streetcar station, built to honor USM students and faculty who served in WWI, were donated by faculty, staff, students, and alumni. The memorial was demolished in the 1960s after being hit by a truck turning into the campus. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 1241. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 16; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.153

 

M246-159       College Beauty
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Photo of an unidentified college coed wearing a large “picture hat” and fur cape. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 16; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.156
                       

M246-160       Governor Hugh L. White at Football Game
                        Negative Only             B&W               1950s
                        Mississippi Governor Hugh L. White (front right) views a football game at USM. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 6145. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 16; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.157

 

M246-161       Governor and Mrs. Paul B. Johnson Jr. with USM President William D. McCain at a Football Game.
                        Negative Only             B&W               1960s
                        A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 1283. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 17; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.158

 

M246-162       Construction of Scott Hall
                        Negative Only             B&W               1959
                        Aerial view of the construction of Scott Hall, a dormitory on the USM campus. A positive image of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC 2020. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 17; negative in Box 4
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.159

 

M246-163       W. S. F. Tatum
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        W. S. F. Tatum (center) donated property on which South Mississippi Woman's College was established in 1911.  The school is now William Carey College. With Mr. Tatum are Dr. W. E. Holcomb (right), and R.W. Dunn (left). (Box 1, Folder 17)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.164

 

M246-164       Mississippi Woman’s College Campus
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1911
                        Tatum Court (center), flanked by two original buildings of South Mississippi College, which operated on the site from 1906-1911. (Box 1, Folder 17)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.164

 

M246-165       Mississippi Woman’s College:  Tatum Court
                        8 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Tatum Court, the administration building of Mississippi Woman’s College, was built in 1914. (Box 1, Folder 17)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.166

 

M246-166       Mississippi Woman’s College
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Front entrance, with a view of the administration building in the background. (Box 1, Folder 17)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.166

 

M246-167       Miss Woman’s College:  Spring Festival
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Five women stand beneath trees with bows and arrows. (Box 1, Folder 17)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.166

M246-168       Unidentified Campus Beauty at Mississippi Woman’s College
                        4 X 8 ½           B&W               ca. 1930s
                        The young woman is posed on a set of stone steps. (Box 1, Folder 17)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.116

 

M246-169       Mississippi Woman’s College
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        One of the original buildings at Mississippi Woman’s College. (Box 1, Folder 17)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.167

 

M246-170       Mississippi Woman’s College:  Old President’s Home
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s-1930s
                        This one-story building later became Crawford Hall Home Economics Building. Several women are on the lawn in this photograph. (Box 1, Folder 17)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.167

 

M246-171       Mississippi Woman’s College:  Dramatic Production
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Scene from a dramatic production staged by the Mississippi Woman’s College.  (Box 1, Folder 18)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.167

 

M246-172       Mississippi Woman's College:  Spring Festival
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Spring Festival king and queen stand near a lily pond at Mississippi Woman's College. (Box 1, Folder 18)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.168

 

M246-173       Mississippi Woman’s College:  Spring Festival
                        8 X 10                         B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Four young women in long, flowing gowns are posed near a lily pond on the campus of Mississippi Woman's College. (Box 1, Folder 18)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.168

 

M246-174       William Carey College:  Aerial view
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1960s
                        (Box 1, Folder 18)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.168

 

M246-175       William Carey College Billboard
                        Negative only              B&W               1969
                        This billboard celebrates the fact that the William Carey College baseball team, The Crusaders, won the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) championship in 1969. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 18; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.169

 

M246-176       William Carey College:  Thomas Business Building Dedication
                        8 X 10             B&W               1975
                        Pictured at the dedication are President Ralph Noonkester, Ollie Thomas, John D. Thomas, and Jerry King, chairman of the Business Department. (Box 1, Folder 18)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.178

 

M246-177       William Carey College:  75th Anniversary
                        5 X 7               B&W               April 1, 1981
                        Dignitaries in attendance at William Carey College’s 75th Anniversary. Includes Mrs. William Winter, Eudora Welty, Dr. Ralph Noonkester, Leontyne Price, Lucille Parker, Marjorie Kelly, and Earl Kelly. (Box 1, Folder 18)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.179

 

M246-178       Dr. Ralph Noonkester
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1980
                        Dr. Noonkester became president of William Carey College in 1956.  In this photo, he is seated, reading a book. (Box 1, Folder 18)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.170

 

M246-179       Mr. N. R. Burger
                        5 X 7               B&W               1970s
                        Formal head and shoulders portrait of Mr. N. R. Burger, one of Hattiesburg's most prominent African American educators.  N. R. Burger Middle School is named for him. (Box 1, Folder 18)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.171

 

M246-180       Old Hattiesburg High School
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1980s
                        Originally constructed in 1921 to house the High School, this building on Main Street later served as administration building for the Hattiesburg public schools. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 18; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.171

 

M246-181       Willie Kamper Holding a Flag at Kamper Park
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Willie Kamper, whose grandfather donated the land for Kamper Park to the city of Hattiesburg, holds the American flag during a ceremony at the park. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.171

 

M246-182       Kamper Park Alligator Pool
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        A small child stands on a bench and looks through the fence that surrounds the alligator pool at Kamper Park. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.174

 

M246-183       YWCA pool
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Young women swim in the YWCA pool. The YWCA was located on Hemphill Street in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.174

 

M246-184       Square Dance
                        5 X 7               B&W               1950s
                        People square dancing at the Front Street Community Center in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.174

 

M246-185       Circus
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        The Clyde Beatty-Cole Brothers Circus sets up for a performance in Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.175

 

M246-186       Baseball Game at Kamper Park
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Photo of a game in progress. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.175

 

M246-187       Mayor Moran M. Pope Takes the Oath of Office
                        5 X 7               B&W               1953
                        The oath of office is administered to Mayor Pope on the front steps of City Hall in Hattiesburg, as a large crowd looks on. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.176

 

M246-188       Hardy Street
                        5 X 7               B&W               early 1950s
                        This Hardy Street scene features Waites Grocery & Market and Phillip’s Florist, near the Park Avenue intersection. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.176

 

M246-189       Mayor Moran Pope
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Hattiesburg Mayor Moran Pope is seated in a straight back chair, wearing a straw hat and holding a fishing pole. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.176

 

M246-190       No. 11 Sandwich Shop
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1940s
                        The No. 11 Sandwich Shop on Broadway Drive later became The Choctaw Restaurant. Several cars are parked outside, and two children are posed in front. (Box 1, Folder 19)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.177

 

M246-191       Dizzy Dean and Boyce Holleman at the Choctaw Restaurant
                        5 X 7               B&W               1964
                        Former baseball star, Dizzy Dean, and Boyce Holleman at the Choctaw Restaurant in Hattiesburg.  The Choctaw was Dean's favorite eatery. (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.177

 

M246-192       Choctaw Restaurant
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Exterior view of the Choctaw Restaurant, whose specialty was barbecued ribs. (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.177

 

M246-193       Pine Street, Looking East
                        8 X 10             B&W               1961
                        This view of Pine Street features the J. C. Penney store and adjacent buildings. (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.178

 

M246-194       Bob Cade, “Engineer Bob” of WDAM-TV
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1960s
                        Bob Cade, also known as “Engineer Bob,” hosting his popular children's program on WDAM-TV in Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.176

 

M246-195       Southern Railroad Passenger Train, "The Southerner"
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        “The Southerner" is pictured on an undesignated stretch of railroad track. (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.179

 

M246-196       Highway 49 Cloverleaf
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Aerial view of the Highway 49 Cloverleaf under construction, near the present site of Cloverleaf Mall in Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.180

 

M246-197       Smith Drug Store
                        5 X 7, 8 X 10              B&W               1955
                        Mr. Hammond Smith’s “open house” celebrating the remodeled Smith Drug Store on Mobile Street in Hattiesburg. The store originally opened in 1925. (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.181

 

M246-198       Broadway Mart Shopping Center Opening
                        5 X 7               B&W               1958
                        Mayor R.T. Carlisle and Lt. Gov. Carroll Gartin are among those present for the opening of one of Hattiesburg's first shopping centers.
                        (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.181

 

M246-199       Forrest General Hospital under Construction
                        5 X 7               B&W               1951
                        Aerial view of construction site between Highway 49 and 28th Avenue. (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.182

 

M246-200       Forrest General Hospital, with Addition
                        5 X 7               B&W               1977
                        Aerial view of the hospital after completion of a multi-story addition, as viewed from Highway 49. (Box 1, Folder 20)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.182

 

M246-201       Methodist Hospital
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Front view of the Methodist Hospital at the end of Bay Street in Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 21)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.183

 

M246-202       New Methodist Hospital
                        5 X 7               B&W               1980
                        Aerial view of the new Methodist Hospital on Highway 98 West.  The facility has since been renamed, Wesley Medical Center. (Box 1, Folder 21)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.183

 

M246-203       Highway 49 and Hardy Street
                        Negative only              B&W               late 1950s or early 1960s      
                        In this photo, traffic was light at the intersection of Highway 49 and Hardy Street. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 21; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.186

 

M246-204       Sackler Furniture Company
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1960s
                        View of Sackler Furniture Company on West Pine Street undergoing a major renovation. (Box 1, Folder 21)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.186

 

M246-205       Hillendale Subdivision Gazebo
                        5 X 7               B&W               1957
                        Mayor R. T. Carlisle and others gather at the gazebo to celebrate the completion of Hillendale Subdivision in 1957. Hillendale was the first subdivision in the western section of Hattiesburg, and the gazebo stands at its entrance. (Box 1, Folder 21)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.187

 

M246-206       Fire at Newman Lumber Company Office
                        5 X 7               B&W               March 18, 1971
                        This photo shows the Newman Lumber Company office engulfed in flames.  The structure was built in the late 1800s at 808 Newman Street, and was the last remaining building of the company. (Box 1, Folder 21)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.188

 

M246-207       Unidentified House in Hattiesburg During the Flood of 1961
                        5 X 7               B&W               1961
                        Water stands just inches below the front porch of this Hattiesburg home during the Leaf and Bouie River flood of 1961. (Box 1, Folder 21)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.190

 

M246-208       Hurricane Camille Damage in Downtown Hattiesburg
                        6 X 7 ½           B&W               1969
                        Windows were blown out of the Smart 'n' Thrifty Store at the corner of Main and Front Streets.  A National Guardsman directs traffic at the intersection. (Box 1, Folder 21)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.190

 

M246-209       Saenger Theatre Building
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1978
                        The Saenger Theatre is located at the corner of Front and Forrest Streets, next to the Forrest Hotel Building. (Box 1, Folder 21)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.198

 

M246-210       Hattiesburg City Hall
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. 1980s
                        View of the Front Street side of City Hall. (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 21;  negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.198

 

M246-211       An Artist’s Rendering of Forrest Towers
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. 1980s
                        An architectural drawing of the proposed remodeling of the Forrest Hotel into the "Forrest Towers." (Photocopy in Box 1, Folder 21; negative in Box 4)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.199

 

M246-212       Ross and Turner Houses on Ray Street
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        A postcard view of two large homes on Bay Street in Hattiesburg:  Ross home (center) and Turner home (right). (Box 1, Folder 21)
                        Publication/ Exhibit History: Reproduced in McCarty, p.203

 

M246-213       Unidentified Road Through the Piney Woods
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        A narrow dirt road threads its way through the tall pines. (Box 1, Folder 21)

 

M246-214       City Hall
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1980
                        Rear view of Hattiesburg City Hall (Box 1, Folder 23)

 

M246-215       City Hall
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1980
                        East (Front Street) side of Hattiesburg City Hall. (Box 1, Folder 23)

 

M246-216       Opening of Pine Belt Savings & Loan
                        6 X 7 ½           B&W               ca. 1960s-1970s
                        Ribbon cutting ceremony at the Pine Belt Savings & Loan.
                        Mayor Paul Grady and an unidentified young woman do the honors. (Box 1, Folder 23)

 

M246-217       First National Bank
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. late 1940s
                        Front view of First National Bank on Main Street in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 23)

 

M246-218       First National Bank Interior
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Employees line the interior of the First National Bank. (Box 1, Folder 23)

 

M246-219       Airport
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. WWII
                        Several small single-engine planes stand in rows, possibly at Camp Shelby. A Standard Oil Company fuel truck is parked nearby. (Box 1, Folder 23)

 

M246-220       Gordon’s Creek:  Plans for Redevelopment
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1978
                        An artist's rendering showing plans for redevelopment of the Gordon’s Creek area in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 23)

 

M246-221       Proposed Parking Garage for Downtown Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1982
                        Artist’s drawing of a proposed parking garage on West Pine Street in Downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 24)

 

M246-222       Leaf River Flood, Vicinity of Short Bay Street
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1905
                        People canoeing through a flooded residential area in the vicinity of Short Bay Street. (Box 1, Folder 24)

 

M246-223       Bay Street Flood
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1905
                        Water levels cover the grounds of a residential area and five men canoe through the area. This appears to be the same flood portrayed in M246-222. (Box 1, Folder 24)

 

M246-224       Hurricane Camille Damage
                        5 X 7               B&W               1969
                        Unidentified body of water with a large pine branch and a door lying on the bank, depicting the extensive damage caused by Hurricane Camille in 1969. (Box 1, Folder 24)

 

M246-225       Phillips Houses on Main Street
                        3 ½ X 4 ½       B&W               1909
                        Picture showing the old and the new residences of F. F. Phillips, President of City Bank and Superintendent of Hattiesburg Public Schools.  The houses stood side-by-side on Main Street. (Box 1, Folder 24)

 

M246-226       Bay Street:  Unidentified House
                        5 ½ X 7           B&W               ca.1920s
                        Photograph of an unidentified two-story house on Bay Street in the 1920s. An automobile is parked on the street in front of the house. (Box 1, Folder 24)

M246-227       Ferguson Home
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Two-story home of Thomas M. Ferguson in the 900 block of North Main Street. It was formerly owned by T. A. Hightower. (Box 1, Folder 24)

 

M246-228       Thornton House
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        A large two-story house identified as the Thornton House, possibly located on Walnut Street. (Box 1, Folder 24)

 

M246-229       Home Reportedly Designed by Frank Lloyd Wright
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        This two-story home with a flat roof is believed to have been designed by renowned architect, Frank Lloyd Wright.  Its location is undetermined. (Box 1, Folder 24)

 

M246-230       Unidentified House
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Immaculate one-story home with elaborate trim on its porch and gables.  A picket fence surrounds the house, and five people are posed on the front porch and steps. (Box 1, Folder 24)

 

M246-231       McInnis House
                        3 ½ X 4 ½       B&W               Undated
                        This house was built in about 1912 by Emmett McInnis at 502 West Pine Street in Hattiesburg, and was later owned by the Smith, Scanlan, and Heidelberg Families.  It was demolished in 1961 to make way for an addition to First Baptist Church. (Box 1, Folder 25)

 

M246-232       Edgar Earl Conner Home
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1900
                        Members of the Edgar Earl Conner Family pose at their home on McInnis Avenue. On the extreme right is Mrs. E. E. Conner, next to her is her mother, Mrs. John Montgomery (Sallie). The Conners moved from here into a new home at 306 4th Avenue in 1911. (Box 1, Folder 25)

 

M246-233       Construction of Houses on Bay Street
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1905-1915
                        Numerous workers stand amidst piles of lumber in front of several houses being built along Bay Street. (Box 1, Folder 25)

 

M246-234       Rawls Springs Hotel
                        6 X 9, 8 X 10              B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Numerous people crowd around the front porch and yard of the rustic Old Rawls Springs Hotel near Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 25)

 

M246-235       Resort North of Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Series of small cabins, with a car parked in front of one. The photo is identified as a resort north of Hattiesburg owned by the Tom Rhea Phillips family. (Box 1, Folder 25)

 

M246-236       Main and Front Streets
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920
                        Street scene showing cars parked on both sides of Main Street in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 25)

 

M246-237       Pine and Hardy Streets, as Seen from the Forrest Hotel
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Aerial view of West Pine Street as seen from the Forrest Hotel.  Hardy Street intersects West Pine in the upper right hand portion of the image. (Box 1, Folder 25)

 

M246-238       Ross Building
                        4 ½ X 5 ½       B&W               1912
                        Image of the five-story Ross Building on East Front Street, from a 1912 postcard. (Box 1, Folder 25)

 

M246-239       West Side of Main Street Prior to 1908
                        5 X 7               B&W               pre-1908
                        Street scene showing the Bufkin and Cadenhead Building.  A horse and carriage are parked on the street (Box 1, Folder 25)

 

M246-240       East Front Street
                        3 X 4 ½           B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Scene of East Front Street showing Katz Clothiers and the new I.O.O.F. (International Order of Odd Fellows) Building. (Box 1, Folder 25)
                        Photographer: D.B. Henley

 

M246-241       Downtown Hattiesburg, Corner of Main and Front Streets
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca.1978
                        Scene in downtown Hattiesburg showing East Front Street, as seen from its intersection with Main Street. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-242       Trolley Car on Bay Street
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Scene of a snow covered trolley car on Bay Street. A car is parked on the opposite side of the street in front of a residence with a wrought iron fence. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-243       Front Street
                        4 ½ X 8 ½       B&W               ca. 1900
                        Scene showing the Odd Fellows Lodge (I.O.O.F.) and Katz Clothiers.  This image is very similar to M246-240. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-244       Main Street
                        5 ½ X 10         B&W               1926
                        Scene portraying an American Oil Company service station, Owl Drug Store, and a Piggly Wiggly store on North Main Street in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-245       Logging Operation
                        2 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Logging scene with wagons and oxen. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-246       Lumber Mill
                        2 X 5 ½           B&W               Undated
                        Scene at an unidentified lumber mill. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-247       Dipping and Scraping Pine Trees
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        Two African-American workers “dipping and scraping pine trees” for the turpentine industry in the South. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-248       J. L. Roseberry General Transfer Company Truck and Crew
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        The truck is loaded with large timbers. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-249       Unidentified Logging Family
                        3 ½ X 5           B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        A man and two women are pictured with oxen and logs. Two large buildings are in the background. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-250       Loggers Cutting Yellow Pine Tree
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Four unidentified loggers cutting down a yellow pine tree for Walworth & Neville Manufacturing Company. (Box 1, Folder 26)

 

M246-251       South Mississippi Infirmary
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1918
                        Scenic view of the South Mississippi Infirmary which was located on Walnut Street in Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-252       Dr. W. W. Crawford’s Home and Clinic
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1918
                        View of the Crawford Home and grounds. The clinic (South Mississippi Infirmary) is pictured on the right side of the image.(Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-253       Nurses and Physicians
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1908
                        Nurses and physicians pose outside a tent, possibly providing aid in the aftermath of the 1908 tornado in Purvis, Mississippi. (Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-254       Methodist Hospital
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1925
                        Front view of the Methodist Hospital, facing Hall Avenue. (Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-255       Polio Drive During WWII
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Large group of children, with four adults in the background, stand behind a table filled with posters and other materials relating to fund-raising efforts on behalf of polio research and treatment. (Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-256       Forrest General Hospital
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1952
                        View of the newly constructed Forrest General Hospital on 28th Avenue in Hattiesburg. (Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-257       Portrait of a Soldier in WWI Uniform.
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917 - 1919
                        The soldier in this photo has been tentatively identified as Dudley Bethea. (Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-258       General Leonard Wood Visits Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               1917
                        General Leonard Wood gets into a car as a crowd surrounds him during a visit to Hattiesburg in 1917. (Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-259       WWII Soldier
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        The soldier in this photo has been tentatively identified as J. O. Barron. (Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-260       Unidentified Rural Scene
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        Buildings in a sparsely wooded area, with several trees lying on the ground.  Two men stand in the center of the scene. (Box 1, Folder 27)

 

M246-261       Manufacturing Ammunition at Komp Equipment Company
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Men and women manufacturing ammunition at Komp Equipment Company in Hattiesburg during WWII. (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-262       Unidentified Soldiers with Hattiesburg Girls
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Two uniformed soldiers with two Hattiesburg girls.  An automobile and a building are in the background. (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-263       Camp Shelby Hut
                        5 X 7               B&W               1918
                        A small wooden structure at Camp Shelby. (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-264       Camp Shelby:  38th Division Headquarters
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Two-story wood frame building that served as the 38th Division Headquarters at Camp Shelby during WWII. (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-265       Red Cross Parade in Downtown Hattiesburg
                        8 X 10             B&W               1943
                        Parade of young women on Main Street in Hattiesburg.  Crowds of onlookers line both sides of the street. (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-266       Red Cross Parade, Spring of 1943
                        8 X 10             B&W               Spring 1943
                        Flag bearers and a marching band lead this parade on Main Street in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-267       Soldiers Being Entertained at a Service Club During WWII
                        5 X 7, 8 X 10              B&W               ca. WWII
                        Soldiers in uniform share a meal with young women. (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-268       Unidentified Ceremony, Possibly at Camp Shelby
                        5 X 7, 8 X 10              B&W               1940s
                        A group of soldiers and civilians gathered in an outdoor setting.
                        (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-269       Two Unidentified Young Women
                        5 X 7               B&W               1941
                        Two well-dressed young women walking down a sidewalk. A soldier in uniform is walking behind them, and two male civilians are engaged in conversation on the left side of the image. (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-270       Camp Shelby:  Second Avenue
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               1940
                        Regimental post exchanges and recreation buildings along Second Avenue, the business street of the camp. (Box 2, Folder 1)

 

M246-271       Camp Shelby:  Tents and Barracks
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. WWII
                        Tents and barracks line one side of a street at Camp Shelby. (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-272       Aerial View of Construction at Camp Shelby
                        5 X 7               B&W               November 12, 1940
                        (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-273       Camp Shelby:  Aerial View
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. 1940
                        This photo features several rows of unidentified buildings. (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-274       Camp Shelby Recreational Hall and Regimental PX
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. 1940
                        One-story wood frame building. (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-275       Camp Shelby Movie Tents
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               1940s
                        Three tents capable of seating 2,000.  The price of admission was 15 or 20 cents. (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-276       Camp Shelby:  Unidentified Structure
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Large, two-story wood frame building at Camp Shelby. (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-277       Camp Shelby:  Unidentified Structure
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. 1940s
                        The same building portrayed in M246-276.  In this image, several cars are parked in front. (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-278       Avenue through Camp Shelby
                        3 ½ X 5 ½       B&W               ca. 1940s
                        A lone soldier walks down an avenue through Camp Shelby. The road is lined on both sides with tents and wood frame structures. (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-279       Camp Shelby Division Headquarters
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               1940
                        Two-story wood frame building that housed the office of the camp commander. (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-280       Camp Shelby:  Unidentified Structure

                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Two-story wood frame building with a fire escape on one end. (Box 2, Folder 2)

 

M246-281       Camp Shelby:  Unidentified Structure
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Two-story wood frame building set among a growth of small pine trees. (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-282       Camp Shelby:  Unidentified Structure
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Two-story wood frame building with a smaller one-story building in the background. (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-283       Flag Pole at Camp Shelby
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca.1940s
                        A tall American flag waves over barracks at Camp Shelby. (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-284       Camp Shelby:  Unidentified Two-Story Structure
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               ca. 1940s
                        A soldier stands in front of this building. (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-285       Row of Tents at Camp Shelby
                        3 X 5 ½, 5 X 7                        B&W               ca.1940s
                        A company area in the 152nd Infantry, Camp Shelby. (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-286       Camp Shelby:  38th Division Service Club
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1940s
                        A sprawling two-story wooden building. (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-287       Row of Tents at Camp Shelby
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Square, wooden structures with canvas tops. (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-288       147th Infantry Training at Camp Shelby
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1940s
                        A collage of training photos of the 147th Infantry at Camp Shelby.
 (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-289       Camp Shelby:  WWI
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917 - 1919
                        WWI army utility vehicles covered with canvas tarps.  A row of tents is in the background. (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-290       Camp Shelby:  WWII
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        A group of soldiers in uniform at Camp Shelby during WWII. (Box 2, Folder 3)

 

M246-291       Camp Shelby:  WWII Training Photographs
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        A collage of images depicting training activity at Camp Shelby during WWII. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

M246-292       Camp Shelby:  151st Regiment Officers' Mess Hall
                        4 X 6               B&W               ca. 1917 - 1919
                        Two unpainted wooden structures that were the officers' mess halls of the 151st regiment, Camp Shelby, possibly during WWI. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

M246-293       Camp Shelby:  152nd Ambulance Corps
                        5 X 7               B&W               1917
                        Pictured are a soldier on horseback and several covered wagons that probably served as ambulances. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

M246-294       YMCA Building
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917 - 1919
                        Large wooden YMCA building, possibly at Camp Shelby during WWI. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

M246-295       Camp Shelby:  Gathering
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917 - 1919
                        Possibly a social gathering at Camp Shelby during WWI.  Men, women, and children mingle in the midst of army tents. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

M246-296       Camp Shelby:  152nd Ambulance Corps
                        5 X 7               B&W               1917
                        One soldier on horseback rides in front of several horse-drawn ambulance wagons. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

M246-297       Camp Shelby:  Tent Row
                        3 ½ X 5 ½       B&W               ca. 1917 - 1919
                        Two men in civilian clothing stand on a plank walkway alongside a row of tents. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

 

M246-298       General Leonard Wood's Visit to Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7               B&W               1917
                        Numerous adults and children surround a fire engine during a visit to Hattiesburg by General Leonard Wood. Boxcars are in the background. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

M246-299       Crowd Scene During Visit to Hattiesburg by General Leonard Wood
                        5 X 7               B&W               1917
                        A large crowd gathers downtown to catch a glimpse of General Leonard Wood. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

M246-300       Camp Shelby:  Uniformed Officer and Vehicle
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1918
                        A uniformed officer stands next to an early model car at Camp Shelby.  The license plate number on the car is:  PHS U.S. 2, and it may be a Public Health Service vehicle put in use during the 1918 influenza epidemic. (Box 2, Folder 4)

 

M246-301       Camp Shelby:  152nd Ambulance Corps
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1917 - 1919
                        Horse-drawn wagons of the 152nd Ambulance Corps. (Box 2, Folder 5)

 

M246-302       Camp Shelby:  Living Quarters for German POWs
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Camp for German prisoners of war detained at Camp Shelby during WWII, with well-tended gardens around them. (Box 2, Folder 5)

 

M246-303       Camp Shelby:  German POW Camp
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        A gazebo is attached to a prisoner of war camp building.  The area is well landscaped. (Box 2, Folder 5)

 

M246-304       Komp Equipment Company
                        5 X 7               B&W               1940s
                        Women seated at a long narrow table manufacture ammunition at the Komp Equipment Company in Hattiesburg during WWII. (Box 2, Folder 5)

 

M246-305       Hercules Powder Company Plant
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        Aerial view of Hercules Powder Company Plant on West 7th Street in Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 5)

 

M246-306       Interior View of Unidentified Mill
                        5 X 6 ½           B&W               ca. 1920s-1930s
                        Five African-American and three Caucasian mill workers are pictured inside an unidentified mill. (Box 2, Folder 5)         

 

M246-307       Mayor Paul Grady and Commissioners
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1960s
                        Hattiesburg Mayor Paul Grady with Commissioners Ford Vance (right) and Walter Parker (left). (Box 2, Folder 5)        

 

M246-308       Santa Maria de Los Angeles, Chile, becomes Hattiesburg’s Sister City
                        5 X 7               B&W               July 21, 1970
                        Mayor Waldemar Agurto (2nd from left), Hattiesburg Mayor Paul Grady (far right), and two unidentified individuals celebrate the new relationship between the two cities. (Box 2, Folder 5)          

 

M246-309       Louis Edward "L. E." Faulkner
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1930s
                        L. E. Faulkner was a prominent Hattiesburg Businessman for many years.  He owned and operated Faulkner Concrete Pipe Company and was an executive with the Mississippi Central Railroad. (Box 2, Folder 5) 

 

M246-310       Mayor Claude Pittman, Sr. and Others
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1961-1962
                        Hattiesburg Mayor Claude Pittman, Sr. is seated.  Standing beside him are an unidentified man, Commissioner C. B. Patterson, and Commissioner W. P. "Smokie" Harrington, all of whom are holding tickets. (Box 2, Folder 5)

 

M246-311       Mayor Moran Pope and Others with Hattiesburg's First “Safety Car"
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        The Safety Car was donated to the city by Barron Motor Company, with assistance from the Hattiesburg Junior Chamber of Commerce.  The car is parked in front of City Hall, and standing beside it are (l-r):  J. C. Barron, Mayor Moran Pope, J. O. Barron, Jr., and Police Chief Hugh Herring. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-312       Mayor Moran Pope and Others with Fire Truck
                        5 X 7               B&W               1954
                        Mayor Moran Pope (far right), former Mayor Mrs. D.W. Holmes (2nd from right), and former Mayor Ed Currie (3rd from right) pose behind City Hall with Commissioner Fewell Thompson and members of the Hattiesburg Fire Department. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-313       B. D. Moore
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Formal head and shoulders portrait of former Hattiesburg Mayor, B. D. Moore.  Mr. Moore served from July - September, 1922, and from 1925-1929. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-314       Thomas E. Batson
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1915
                        Formal head and shoulders portrait of former Hattiesburg Mayor, Thomas E. Batson.  Mr. Batson served from 1913 until his death in 1922.  B. D. Moore was appointed to serve until a special election could be held to fill Batson's unexpired term. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-315       Edward J. "Ed" Currie, Sr.
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1951
                        Formal head and shoulders portrait of former Hattiesburg Mayor, Ed Currie, who served from 1951-1953. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-316       George M. Calhoun
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Formal portrait of former Hattiesburg Mayor, George M. Calhoun, who served from 1941-1949. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-317       Bobby L. Chain
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1980s
                        Former Hattiesburg Mayor, Bobby L. Chain seated at his desk. Mr. Chain served from 1980-1985. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-318       Mississippi Central Railroad Shops
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        The shops are in the background, with railroad tracks and rail cars in front. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-319       Mississippi Central Railroad:  Specifications for Locomotive and Tender
                        5 X 7               B&W               1907
                        Advertisement giving specifications for a locomotive and tender ordered from Baldwin Locomotive Works of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, by the Mississippi Central Railroad. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-320       G & SI Locomotive and Tender
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        Photo of a Gulf and Ship Island Railroad locomotive and Tender. (Box 2, Folder 6)

 

M246-321       Mississippi Central Railroad Offices
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1958
                        The two-story Mississippi Central Railroad Company offices were located on Bouie Street. (Box 2, Folder 7)
                       

M246-322       Southern Railway Depot
                        5 X 7, 8 X 10              B&W               ca. 1950s
                        View of the Southern Railway Depot in Hattiesburg, located at the intersection of Market and Newman Streets. (Box 2, Folder 7)

 

M246-323       Mississippi Central Railroad General Office Building
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        Photograph of the General Office Building for the Mississippi Railroad Company in Hattiesburg.  A note at the bottom of the image says the building was covered with Ambler Asbestos Shingles. (Box 2, Folder 7)

 

M246-324       Bonhomie and Hattiesburg Southern Railroad Locomotive and Tender
                        8 X 10             B&W               Undated
                        B&HS Railroad locomotive number 200, and tender, parked beside a building.  The B&HS was owned by the Tatum Lumber Company. (Box 2, Folder 7)

 

M246-325       Bonhomie and Hattiesburg Southern Railroad Locomotive and Tender #250
                        3 X 4 ½           B&W               Undated
                        Side view of B&HS locomotive #250 and tender. (Box 2, Folder 7)
                        Photographer: L.J. Caldwell, late 1920’s

 

M246-326       Mississippi Central Railroad Passenger Train
                        4 ½ X 8 ½       B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Passengers loading onto the Mississippi Central Railroad passenger train at the depot in Sumrall, Mississippi. (Box 2, Folder 7)

 

M246-327       Shay-Type Locomotive
                        3 ½ X 4 ½       B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Locomotive number 207, designed for pulling logs. Several men and women are posed on the engine. (Box 2, Folder 7)

 

M246-328       Tatum Lumber Company Locomotive Number 5
                        2 ½ X 4           B&W               Undated
                        This locomotive belonged to the Tatum Lumber Company, located in the Bonhomie Community, near Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 7)

 

M246-329       Gandy Dancers
                        5 X 6               B&W               late 1940s or early 1950s
                        Several African-American workers demonstrate their expertise, while working on the tracks of the New Orleans & Northeastern Railroad. (Box 2, Folder 7)

 

M246-330       Bonhomie and Hattiesburg Southern Railroad Locomotive and Tender #300
                        3 X 4 ½           B&W               Undated
                        (Box 2, Folder 7)
                        Photographer: L.J. Caldwell, late 1920’s

 

M246-331       Tatum Lumber Company Locomotive #2
                        5 ½ X 9 ½       B&W               Undated
                        Locomotive parked in front of a barn-type building. (Box 2, Folder 8)

 

M246-332       Train Wreck
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1930s - 1940s
                        Aerial view of a train wreck near a rural residential area.  Smoke billows from a pile of wrecked rail cars. (Box 2, Folder 8)

 

M246-333       Railroad Tracks
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1930s - 1940s
                        Aerial view of railroad tracks in an unidentified rural area. A car parked on a dirt road that crosses the tracks has both front doors open, and three men appear to be examining the tracks. (Box 2, Folder 8)

 

M246-334       Switch Engine
                        2 ½ X 4                       B&W               Undated
                        A small unidentified switch engine sits on a track. (Box 2, Folder 8)

 

M246-335       Caboose
                        2 ½ X 4                       B&W               Undated
                        A caboose parked near the Tatum Lumber Company. This image is very dark. (Box 2, Folder 8)

 

M246-336       G.& S. I. Hospital
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Photograph of the Gulf & Ship Island Railroad Hospital in Hattiesburg, which later became the Methodist Hospital. (Box 2, Folder 8)
                        Photographer: Henley

 

M246-337       H. G. Hill Store
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1932-1933
                        Interior of the H. G. Hill grocery store on West Pine Street.  Also pictured are the store's employees. (Box 2, Folder 8)

 

M246-338       Unidentified Store or Service Station
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        A young boy and dog stand outside an unidentified business with one gas pump in front. (Box 2, Folder 8)

 

M246-339       Merchant’s Company Employees
                        3 ½ X 8 ½       B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Employees of the Merchant’s Company Grocers of Hattiesburg posed outside the building. (Box 2, Folder 8)

 

M246-340       Barron Motor Company
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Photograph of the large, brick building that housed Barron Motor Company, the local Lincoln, Ford, and Fordson dealer.  The company was located at the corner of Main and Batson Streets. (Box 2, Folder 8)

 

M246-341       Phoenix Laundry and Dry Cleaners
                        6 X 9               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Photograph of the Phoenix Laundry in Hattiesburg.  Employees are standing outside, along with horse-drawn delivery wagons. (Box 2, Folder 9)

 

M246-342       Central Electric Company
                        5 X 6 ½           B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Interior view of the Central Electric Company on Main Street in downtown Hattiesburg.  A number of employees are also in the photo. (Box 2, Folder 9)

 

M246-343       Law Office of Daniel E. Sullivan
                        8 X 10, 3 X 4 ½                      B&W               ca. 1910
                        Daniel Sullivan (right) and two unidentified men sit in his law office in Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 9)

 

M246-344       Barron Motor Company
                        4 X 4               B&W               ca. 1910
                        Barron Motor Company, the local Ford agency, with early models parked in the street. (Box 2, Folder 9)

 

M246-345       Barron Motor Company
                        2 X 4, 5 X10              B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Front view of Barron Motor Company on Main Street. The YMCA building is pictured on the right side of the image. (Box 2, Folder 9)

 

M246-346       Deas & Duke Clothing Store
                        3 X 5               B&W               ca. 1910-1920
                        A man stands in front of the Deas & Duke men's clothing store on East Front Street in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 9)

 

M246-347       Theatre:  First Mid-South Performance of "Susannah"
                        8 X 10             B&W               May 18, 1961
                        A scene from the mid-south premiere of Carlisle Floyd's, "Susannah," with guest star Norman Treigle. (Box 2, Folder 9)
                        Photographer: Charles Gerald

 

M246-348       Kamper Park Zoo Lion Cage
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        School children crowd around the lion cage at Kamper Park. (Box 2, Folder 9)

 

M246-349       Sullivan-Kilrain Fight, Richburg, Mississippi
                        5 X 7               B&W               July 8, 1889
                        Thousands of people crowd around an outdoor ring to watch the last professional bare-knuckle championship boxing match in America, between John L. Sullivan and Jake Kilrain. (Box 2, Folder 9)

 

M246-350       Sullivan-Kilrain Fight, Richburg, Mississippi
                        7 ½ X 7 ½       B&W               July 8, 1889
                        In this, the last bare knuckle fight, John L. Sullivan defeated Jake Kilrain in 75 rounds. This image is very similar to M246-382. (Box 2, Folder 9)

 

M246-351       Fourth of July Parade
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Men carrying American flags ride on a truck decorated with patriotic bunting. (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-352       Ducks and Swans at Kamper Park
                        5 X 7               B&W               1950
                        Several ducks and swans swim in a pond at Kamper Park.
                        (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-353       Parade on Main Street in Hattiesburg
                        4 X 6               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Parade on Main Street featuring the horse-drawn Hattiesburg Furniture Company float. (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-354       Bynum Lumber Company Locomotive
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Bynum Lumber Company locomotive #346 at work in the woods hauling logs.  The company was located in Lamar County, Mississippi. (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-355       Spring Festival at Mississippi Woman’s College
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1930s
                        The Spring Festival King and Queen and their court are gathered around a pond.  All are wearing elaborate costumes. (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-356       Spring Festival at Mississippi Woman’s College
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Several young ladies in costume are gathered around the May Pole. (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-357       William Carey College
                        8 X 10             B&W               Undated
                        One-story wood frame structure on the campus of William Carey College.  The building appears to be vacant. (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-358       Mississippi Woman's College
                        8 X 10             B&W               Undated
                        A one-story brick building on the Mississippi Woman's College campus identified as the Mary Ross Memorial Hospital, which was completed in 1923. (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-359       Spring Festival at Mississippi Woman’s College
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Costumed women dance around in a circle. (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-360       Mississippi Woman’s College Spring Festival
                        5 X 9               B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Women in costume relax around a lake. (Box 2, Folder 10)

 

M246-361       Mississippi Woman's College
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1912
                        A large crowd surrounds a man with a shovel at what appears to be a groundbreaking ceremony. (Box 2, Folder 11)

 

M246-362       Mississippi Woman’s College
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1910-1915
                        View of buildings on the Mississippi Woman’s College Campus. (Box 2, Folder 11)

M246-363       Log Cabin
                        8 X 10             B&W               Undated
                        A small log cabin in the woods with an unidentified man sitting on the steps. A horse is tied to a nearby tree. (Box 2, Folder 11)

 

M246-364       Outhouse Drawing
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        Drawing of an outhouse, reflective of the June 22, 1885, Municipal Minutes of the City of Hattiesburg, re:  "water closets." (Box 2, Folder 11)

 

M246-365       Land Grant to William H. Hardy
                        5 X 7               B&W               May 10, 1882
                        A photograph of a signed land grant to William H. Hardy for 119 acres in Lauderdale County, Mississippi.  The document bears the signature of President Chester A. Arthur. (Box 2, Folder 11)

 

M246-366       Drilling Rig
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Aerial view of a drilling rig at an undetermined location. (Box 2, Folder 11)

 

M246-367       Unidentified Body of Water
                        8 X 10             B&W               Undated
                        Aerial view of a river or stream; possibly the convergence of two rivers.  Location unknown. (Box 2, Folder 11)

 

M246-368       Unidentified Body of Water
                        8 X 10             B&W               Undated
                        Aerial view of the same site portrayed in M246-367, from a slightly different angle. (Box 2, Folder 11)

 

M246-369       Power Station on Leaf River in Hattiesburg
                        8 X 10             B&W               Undated
                        Aerial view of the power station on the bank of Leaf River. (Box 2, Folder 11)

 

M246-370       Travelers Aid Agent, Mrs. T.W. Burdett and Others
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1946
                        Mrs. T. W. Burdett fills out paperwork in order to provide assistance to an unidentified family of four. (Box 2, Folder 11)

 

M246-371       William Harris Hardy Historical Marker
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1980s
                        A historical marker on West Pine Street reading: “William Harris Hardy: In 1880 near the banks of the Gordon Creek, this lawyer, railroad builder and Confederate veteran selected the site for Hattiesburg. Incorporated in 1884, the town was named for Hardy’s wife, Hattie Lott.” (Box 2, Folder 12)

 

M246-372       Original Home and Garden Club Breakfast at Kamper Park
                        5 X 7               B&W               July, 1950
                        A large number of ladies stand around outdoor tables in Kamper Park. The Original Home and Garden Club was organized in 1927. (Box 2, Folder 12)

 

M246-373       Virgil Jones and Friends
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Virgil Jones (left) and five unidentified men pose outside a tent.  All are holding bottles, which may contain coke or whiskey. (Box 2, Folder 12)

 

M246-374       W. H. Jones, Sr.
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s-1930s
                        W. H. Jones Sr., Hattiesburg educator and primary influence in the establishment of the Eureka High School in 1921. W. H. Jones Elementary School was named in his honor. (Box 2, Folder 12)

 

M246-375       Unidentified Man
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Formal head and shoulders portrait of a gentleman tentatively identified as either Thomas M. Ferguson, or W.A. Lovett. (Box 2, Folder 12)

 

M246-376       Carl Autry
                        5 X 7               B&W               1939
                        Carl Autry, Hattiesburg's first motorcycle police officer, poses with his machine. (Box 2, Folder 12)

 

M246-377       “Engineer Bob"
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1960s
                        Bob “Engineer Bob” Cade poses with a large Dixiana ham on the set of his WDAM-TV program.  The program was geared toward small children, who celebrated their birthdays on the show. (Box 2, Folder 12)

 

M246-378       Trolley Car Conductors
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920
                        A row of uniformed trolley car conductors standing on the car tracks, with trolley cars in the background.  Three children and three men are posed in front of the conductors. Box 2, Folder 12)

 

M246-379       Unidentified Family on Front Porch
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Three people are seated in a swing, one is seated in a rocking chair, and one is standing.  Boston ferns decorate the porch. (Box 2, Folder 12)

 

M246-380       Alma Hickman
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1951
                        Miss Alma Hickman, a member of the original faculty of the University of Southern Mississippi, poses with the trophy she was awarded for her selection as Hattiesburg's "Outstanding Citizen of 1950." (Box 2, Folder 12)

M246-381       “Tom Thumb” Wedding
                        5 X 7               B&W               1913
                        Photograph of a large wedding party consisting entirely of young children. The event was performed at the Hattiesburg Opera House. Dudley Conner was the groom, and Willetta Smith was the bride.  Other participants are identified on the back of the image. (Box 2, Folder 13)

 

M246-382       Steam Operated Peanut Machine
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        A steam operated peanut vending cart on the corner of Main and Pine Streets near Citizen’s Bank in downtown Hattiesburg. Pictured are W. J. Stewart, and Jimmy Lawelen (?). (Box 2, Folder 13)

 

M246-383       Jesse Collier, Sr. and Standard Oil Company Vehicle
                        3 ½ X 4 ½       B&W               ca. 1915
                        Jessie Collier, Sr. is pictured with his children Jesse Collier, Jr. and Vera Collier with what was thought to be the first commercial vehicle in Mississippi. (Box 2, Folder 13)

 

M246-384       Aladdin Company Employees
                        4 X 12             B&W               ca. 1930s
                        Employees of the Aladdin Company (manufacturers of Aladdin Houses) lined up outside the company building located on North Street at the Mississippi Central Railroad track. (Box 2, Folder 13)

 

M246-385       Unidentified Group of Men at Banquet
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        A large group of men seated at banquet tables in a long, narrow room. (Box 2, Folder 13)

 

M246-386       Unidentified Female Musical Ensemble
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1930s - 1940s
                        Eleven formally dressed young women pose with their instruments. (Box 2, Folder 13)

 

M246-387       E. E. Conner and Friends Vacationing at Rawls Springs
                        5 X 7               B&W               1907
                        E. E. Conner and four others pose in a wooded setting at Rawls Springs, near Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 13)

 

M246-388       Dudley Conner and Father
                        5 X7                B&W               ca. 1906-1907
                        Dudley Conner (baby) is held by his father on the bank of the mineral creek at Rawls Springs. (Box 2, Folder 13)

 

M246-389       Mississippi Normal College Orchestra
                        5 X 7               B&W               1920
                        The MNC orchestra, composed of both women and men, pose with their instruments.  Mississippi Normal College is now the University of Southern Mississippi. (Box 2, Folder 13)
                        Publication/Exhibit History: Published in the 1920 Mississippi Normal College Yearbook, Neka Camon

 

M246-390       Dr. Thornton (?)
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        An artist’s drawing of a gentleman tentatively identified as Dr. Thornton. (Box 2, Folder 13)

 

M246-391       Mr. and Mrs. T. M. Favre
                        4 X 4 ½           B&W               ca. 1910-1913
                        Mr. and Mrs. Favre, of Gulfport, Mississippi, drive their automobile through a residential area. (Box 2, Folder 14)

 

M246-392       Unidentified Persons in Horse-Drawn Carriage
                        4 X 4½            B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Two unidentified young ladies in a horse-drawn carriage in front of a large house. The location may be Bay Street in Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 14)

 

M246-393       Court Street School
                        4 X 4 ½           B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        A large number of school children assembled outside the Court Street School in Hattiesburg. Mrs. Grace Christian was principal of the school at the time the photo was taken. (Box 2, Folder 14)
                        Photographer: Taylor

 

M246-394       Hattiesburg High School Football Team
                        5 X 7               B&W               1932-33
                        The team is in uniform, sitting on bleachers. (Box 2, Folder 14)

 

M246-395       Old Hattiesburg High School
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        A young girl walks up the steps to the auditorium in the Old High School on Main Street. A sign posted on the stairway announces, "Auditorium, 52 Steps Up." (Box 2, Folder 14)

 

M246-396       Elementary School Students
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1940s
                        Elementary students posed outside an unidentified school. Students appear to be holding some sort of certificates. (Box 2, Folder 14)

 

M246-397       Lake View Park
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        This photograph, labeled “Picturesque Lake View Park, Hattiesburg, Mississippi," shows the lake, boathouse, and footbridge. (Box 2, Folder 14)

 

M246-398       Lake View Park
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        View of the boathouse and lake at Lake View Park, Hattiesburg, Mississippi. (Box 2, Folder 14)

 

M246-399       Scenic Road Through the Piney Woods
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        An early automobile makes its way down a winding dirt road flanked by tall pine trees. (Box 2, Folder 14)

 

M246-400       Tatum Lumber Company Timber Land
                        4 X 4 ½           B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Three men in a pine forest owned by the Tatum Lumber Company. Owner, W. S. F. Tatum, is pictured on the far right. (Box 2, Folder 14)

 

M246-401       Tatum Lumber Company Timber Land
                        4 X 4 ½           B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Tall pine trees on Tatum Lumber Company land. (Box 2, Folder 15)

 

M246-402       1930 YMCA Baseball Team
                        Negative Only             B&W               1930
                        The team poses in the stadium bleachers. A print of this image is available in Pine Belt Family YMCA Records:  M268-202, Box 10, Folder 3. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-403       East Front Street, Looking West
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Two young girls embrace in front of a store on East Front Street in downtown Hattiesburg. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-404       Interior View of an Unidentified Factory and Workers
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-405       First Presbyterian Church
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        Exterior view of the First Presbyterian Church on Main Street in Hattiesburg. The church has since moved to Highway 98 West. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-406       Exterior View of Bill’s Dollar Store
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1960s
                        Two vehicles are parked outside the store, which was located on South Main Street in Hattiesburg. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-407       Interior View of a Bank and Employees
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        Two women stand at the counter of an unidentified bank.  A man is standing behind them. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-408       Unidentified Men Holding Signs
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        A group of men wearing suits hold display signs advertising Ford automobiles for Barron Motors. An early model Ford is parked behind them. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-409       Unidentified Men with Log Wagon
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Two men pose with an eight-wheel log wagon loaded with a huge log. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-410       Hattiesburg YWCA
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1950s
                        A large group of men and women gathered around the flag pole in front of the Hattiesburg YWCA building on Hemphill Street. A print of this image is available in the Hattiesburg YWCA Records:  M274-11, Box 2, Folder 12. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-411       Group Descending Fire Escape
                        Negative Only            B&W               ca. 1950s
                        An unidentified group of boys and girls descends a fire escape outside a two story building. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-412       Unidentified Residence in a Wooded Area.
                        Negative Only                         B&W               Undated
                        The grounds of this dwelling exhibit possible storm damage. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-413       USM President, Dr. William D. McCain, Shakes Hands with Dr. Aubrey K. Lucas
                        Negative Only                         B&W               October 18, 1974
                        President McCain shakes hands with Dr. Aubrey K. Lucas, as Mr. Bobby Chain, Mrs. Miriam Simmons, and Dr. R. C. Cook look on. The occasion is Dr. Lucas' appointment as president of the University of Southern Mississippi. A print of this photo is available in Archives Record Group 2:  PC1600. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-414       Trolley Car
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Two men stand in front of a trolley car on Bay Street, near the Methodist Hospital. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-415       California Sandwich Shop
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1950s
                        A woman and her children stand next to an automobile parked beside the California Sandwich Shop on the corner of East Front and Market Streets. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-416       Portrait of Two Unidentified Young Girls.
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. late 1800s - early 1900s
                        Formal portrait of two young girls. One is about five or six years of age, and the other is a very young toddler. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-417       Portrait of an Unidentified Small Girl and an Infant
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Photograph of a young girl about six years of age, and an infant in a wicker stroller. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-418       Six Unidentified Children
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        Six children posed with their hands on their knees. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-419       Men and Women Gathered on a Porch
                        Negative Only                         B&W               Undated
                        A gathering of men and women on a porch near what looks like a factory. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-420       Large Group of People and Cattle in Fenced Enclosure
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        People and cattle involved in some kind of activity behind a fenced enclosure. Possibly an auction or a rodeo. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-421       Forrest Hotel
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Corner view of the Forrest Hotel in downtown Hattiesburg, corner of West Pine and Forrest Streets. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-422       Texaco Service Station
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1950s
                        The location of this station is undetermined, but there are signs nearby pointing to Highways 11 and 49. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-423       Gulf Service Station
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1950s
                        The location of this station is undetermined. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-424       Large Pine
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                         A large pine tree in the woods. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-425       Hauling Logs
                        Negative Only                         B&W               ca. early 1900s
                        Unidentified men hauling logs in the forest, using ox-drawn wagons. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-426       Unidentified Man Standing on a Large Tree Stump
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-427       Locomotive
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        A very old locomotive with weeds growing up around it. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-428       Zion Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Church
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. 1920s-1930s
                        Congregation in front of the church, which was located on New Orleans Street in Hattiesburg, Mississippi.  At the time the photo was taken, Rev. E. D. Scott was pastor.  In an inscription on the photo, "Chapel" is incorrectly spelled as "Chapter." (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-429       Five Nurses
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1950s
                        The Cargill Sisters of Hattiesburg. Second from the left is Kate Cargill.  The others are Margaret, Marion, Jean, and Virginia Cargill. (Negative in Box 4)

M246-430       Five Nurses
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1950s
                        The five Cargill Sisters depicted in M246-429, shot from a different angle. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-431       Fountain Behind Hattiesburg City Hall
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1980s
                        (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-432       Hattiesburg Community Center
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        Located on Front Street, this building was later named the Jackie Dole Sherrill Community Center in honor of a Hattiesburg policewoman who was killed in the line of duty. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-433       City Hall
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1970s
                        Front view of Hattiesburg City Hall, located at the corner of Forrest and Front Streets. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-434       Kress Building
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1960s
                        The S. H. Kress Building on Main Street in Hattiesburg housed the Kress 5 and 10 Cent Store. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-435       Unidentified Buildings
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        Unidentified buildings next to the Hattiesburg Bank of Commerce on Main Street. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-436       Unidentified Corner Building
                        Negative Only                         B&W               ca. 1950s
                        Unidentified corner building in downtown Hattiesburg, possibly at the corner of Main and West Pine Streets. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-437       A Circular Regarding the Dangers of Diseases Spread by Flies and Mosquitoes
                        Negative Only             B&W               ca. 1916
                        A reproduction of this circular appears on page 51 of the 1916 University of Southern Mississippi yearbook, The New Spirit. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-438       Unidentified Nurses on Graduation Day
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        Graduating nurses holding diplomas and flowers. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-439       Rural School Pictured with a Two-Story Building
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1922
                        Photograph of a one-room wooden school and a two-story brick building. The image bears the following inscription:  "A Rural School and a Modern Jail -- Which is Which?"  The image is from the Mississippi Education Association (MEA), Advance, May 1922, page 3. (Box 2, Folder 15)

 

M246-440       Old Abbeyville Normal School
                        5 X 7               B&W               November 1930
                        Two-story structure identified as the old Abbeyville Normal School. The first floor was used by the school children, the second by the Masons.  The image appeared in the Mississippi Education Association Advance, November 1930, page 60, and was printed to illustrate the type of construction “found here in Mississippi a generation ago.” (Box 2, Folder 15)

 

M246-441       Unidentified Rural School
                        5 X 7               B&W               November 1919
                        Children stand in front of a very small rural schoolhouse. The MEA Advance printed this picture in its November 1919 issue to encourage Mississippi school districts to provide cleaner environments for their children that was, “fit to learn and play in." (Box 2, Folder 15)

 

M246-442       Collage of Twenty-one Ladies' Portraits
                        6 ½ X 10                     B&W               May 11, 1907
                        Possibly a high school or college graduation class.  The ladies are identified beneath their portraits. Photo Features: 1st row, Maybell Marshall, Mary Massey, Robeta Baker, Mae McKenzie, Nannie Cunningham, Linnie Barcroft, Addie Mitchell, 2nd row, Martha Batey, Ardurie Mutch, Elizabeth, McMillion, Ruby Lilly, Birdie Cate, Enniee Andrew, Emily Cordell, 3rd row, Ethel Jackson, Alma Jones, Sallie Londer, Elizabeth Smith, Nell Drake, Emma Steger, Ellen Thompson (Box 2, Folder 15)
                        Photographer: Anderson

 

M246-443       Hattiesburg Chamber of Commerce Directors
                        8 X 10             B&W               1947
                        Directors are identified at the top of the photograph. Photo Features: 1st row, G.M. McWilliams, D.P. Cameron, J.O. Barron, Jr., W.A. Thomsom, L.E. Faulkner, 2nd row, F.M. Tatum, Sr., W.T. Russell, C.A. Lambert, Marshall G. Smith, J.W. Mangum, H.H. Bell, H.F. McWilliams Sr., Frank D. Montague, Geo. B. Denham, F.W. Foote, M.D. King Jr., J.D. Lewis, Dr. R.C. Cook, M.A. Mayo (Box 2, Folder 15)

 

M246-444       Aerial View of Camp Shelby
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1941
                        Aerial view of military camp just south of Hattiesburg, Mississippi. (Box 2, Folder 15)
                        Photographer: Hiatt Photo Service, Jackson, MS

 

M246-445       "The 442nd Prepares for Combat”
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. 1943
                        Members of the 442nd Infantry Regimental Combat Team are pictured standing in formation.  The 442nd was composed of Japanese American volunteers from the mainland United States and Hawaii.  The majority of the volunteers were sent to Camp Shelby, Mississippi for training, before being sent overseas.  For their performance during WWII, they have been recognized as "the most decorated unit in United States history." (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-446       Komp Equipment Company Office
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s
                        Men work at their desks in the Komp Equipment Company offices on East Pine Street in Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 15)

 

M246-447       Hattiesburg City Hall
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. 1980s
                        Front Street side of City Hall. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-448       House in Which Jake Kilrain Spent the Night
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        One-story clapboard house in which Jake Kilrain reportedly spent the night before his bare-knuckle fight with John L. Sullivan on July 8, 1889. (Box 2, Folder 15)      

 

M246-449       Jackson Highway
                        5 X 7               B&W               Undated
                        View of a dirt road labeled as, "Jackson Highway, Hattiesburg, Mississippi”. The exact location of the road is unknown. (Box 2, Folder 15)

 

M246-450       Hat Day at Donovan-Lane
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1950s
                        A group of men stand inside Donovan-Lane Men's Store in downtown Hattiesburg. All are wearing hats in honor of "Hat Day." (Box 2, Folder 15)

 

M246-451       Mayor Bobby Chain
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1980s
                        Hattiesburg Mayor, Bobby Chain, sitting at his desk in City Hall. (Box 2, Folder 16)

 

M246-452       Forrest County Supervisors
                        8 X 10             B&W               1916-1919
                        Group photo of Forrest County Supervisors for 1916-1919. The Mississippi Official & Statistical Register (1917) lists the supervisors for this period as: R. M. Hendrix-1st district, R.G. Lee- 2nd district, C.C. Russell- 3rd district, J.A. Ryan- 4th district, George W. Boone-5th district. (Box 2, Folder 16)

 

M246-453       Forrest General Hospital
                        Negative Only             B&W               1952
                        Aerial view of Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg, shortly after its initial construction in 1952. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-454       Collage of Former Forrest County Supervisors
                        8 X 10             B&W               1908-1936
                        Collage of eleven photographs featuring former Forrest County supervisors from 1908-1936. Individuals are identified on the photo. Photo Features: 1st row, S.E. Perkins- ca.1908, W.A. Conn- ca 1908, John L. Davis ca-1908, (?), 2nd row, J.B. Limbaugh- 1920-27, George W. Simmons- 1920-27, 3rd row, Forrest Co. Supervisors- 1916-1919, Frank William, Sr.- 1930-1936, J.W. Brown- 1920-1923, T.A. Cahal- 1924-1927, M.W. Thompson- 1924-1931. (Box 2, Folder 16)

 

M246-455       Woodmen of the World Marching Band
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1927-28
                        The Leaf River Camp Number 28 (Hattiesburg, Mississippi) Woodmen of the World marching band posed on the front steps of the Forrest County Courthouse. (Box 2, Folder 16)

 

M246-456       Ross Building in Downtown Hattiesburg
                        4 ½ X 9 Negative only            B&W               1912
                        The caption on this image says, “Canvas awnings at each window marked the Ross Building in this 1912 postcard.” (Oversize negative in Box 2, Folder 16)

 

M246-457       Hattiesburg City Hall
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. 1980s
                        Front Street side of City Hall. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-458       Saenger Theatre
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. 1980s
                        Front view of the Saenger Theatre on Forrest Street in downtown Hattiesburg. (Negative Box 4)

 

M246-459       Bobby Chain
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. 1980s
                        Former Hattiesburg Mayor, Bobby Chain, sitting at his desk in City Hall. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-460       Bobby Chain
                        Negative only              B&W               ca. 1980s
                        Former Hattiesburg Mayor, Bobby Chain, sitting at his desk in City Hall. This is a slightly different view of the image in M246-459. (Negative in Box 4)

 

M246-461       Forrest Club
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1920s

                        The Forrest Club, located at 205 Bay Street in Hattiesburg, later became the site of Hulett-Winstead Funeral Home. (Box 2, Folder 17)

 

M246-462       Krewe of Zeus:  First Carnival Ball
                        5 X 7               B&W               March 13, 1924

                        The carnival king and queen of the Mystic Krewe of Zeus of Hattiesburg are surrounded by their court members at the organization's first carnival ball. (Box 2, Folder 17)

 

M246-463       Halloween Dance at the Forrest Club in Hattiesburg
                        5 X 7, 8 X 10              B&W               1913

Group photo of attendees in costume.  Identifications are included with the photo. (Box 2, Folder 17)

 

M246-464       Masonic Temple
                        5 X 7               B&W               ca. 1930s-1940s

Front view of the Masonic Temple at the corner of Main and Eaton Streets in downtown Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 17)

 

M246-465       Camp Shelby:  A Regimental Headquarters Building
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               1940s

View of a one-story wood frame building at Camp Shelby during World War II. (Box 2, Folder 17)

 

M246-466       Camp Shelby:  Street in Hospital Area
                        3 X 5 ½           B&W               1940s

This street at Camp Shelby has barrack-type buildings on each side.  A long, one-story building is at the end of the street. (Box 2, Folder 17)

 

M246-467       Funsten Pecan Company
                        8 X 10             B&W               1964

Aerial view of the Funsten Pecan Company building and the surrounding residential areas. The company was a division of the Pet Milk Company, and was located on Klondyke Street in Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 17)
Photographer: Hinman Photographers of Gulfport, MS

 

M246-468       Price Brothers Concrete Pipe Company
                        8 X 10             B&W               1964

Aerial view of the Price Brothers Concrete Pressure Pipe Company, located on Edwards Street in Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 17)
Photographer: Hinman Photographers of Gulfport, MS

 

M246-469       Mississippi Tank Company
                        8 X 10             B&W               May 5, 1964

Aerial view of the Mississippi Tank Company on West Seventh Street in Hattiesburg. The company manufactures LP gas tank bodies and trailers. (Box 2, Folder 17)
Photographer: Hinman Photographers of Gulfport, MS

 

M246-470       Forrest Farms Chicken Processing Plant
                        8 X 10             B&W               1964

Aerial view of the Forrest Farms Chicken Processing Plant, a subsidiary of the Merchants Company. The plant was located on James Street in Hattiesburg.  The site is currently occupied by Marshall Durbin Poultry Company. (Box 2, Folder 17)
Photographer: Hinman Photographers of Gulfport, MS

 

M246-471       Aerial View of the Big Yank Manufacturing Company and the Pine Burr
                        Packing Company
                        8 X 10             B&W               May 5, 1964

The Big Yank Company, which manufactured shirts, is in the foreground of the image.  The Pine Burr Meat Packing Company is in the background.  Both companies were located on Edwards Street in Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 18)
Photographer: Hinman Photographers of Gulfport, MS

 

M246-472       Forrest Farms Chicken Processing Plant
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca. 1960s

One of the buildings that comprised the Forrest Farms Chicken Processing Plant on James Street. (Box 2, Folder 18)
Photographer: Bob Waller’s Photo Service, Hattiesburg, MS

 

M246-473       Forrest Farms
                        8 X 10             B&W               ca.1960s

A cluster of buildings that were part of the Forrest Farms Chicken Processing Plant on James Street. (Box 2, Folder 18)
Photographer: Bob Waller’s Photo Service Hattiesburg, MS

 

M246-474       Hattiesburg Brick Works and Hattiesburg Water Works
                        8 X 10             B&W               1964
                        Aerial view of Hattiesburg Brick Works (right) and Hattiesburg Water Works, Filter Plant 2 (left), located on James Street. (Box 2, Folder 18)
                        Photographer: Hinman Photographers of Gulfport, MS

 

M246-475       Dixie Pine Products Company
                        8 X 10             B&W               1964
                        Aerial view of the Dixie Pine Products Company located in the Dixie Pine Community in Southeast Hattiesburg. (Box 2, Folder 18)
                        Photographer: Hinman Photographers of Gulfport, MS

 

M246-476       Aerial View of Downtown Hattiesburg looking West to East
                        8 X 10             B&W               1964
                        (Box 2, Folder 18)
                        Photographer: Hinman Photographers of Gulfport, MS

 

M246-477       Hub City Alpha Class, Hattiesburg Lodge of Perfection
                        11 ½ X 13       B&W               October 26, 1920
                        104 members pose outside the Masonic Temple. Members are identified at the bottom of the image. (See oversized folder)
                        Photographer: Hammond Studio, Meridian, MS

 

M246-478       Alpha Class Hattiesburg Consistory “Patriae et Populis”, Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry
                        9 X 15             B&W               April 1921
                        91 members pose in front of the Masonic Temple.  Their names are listed at the bottom of the image. (See oversized folder)
                        Photographer: Hammond Studio, Meridian, MS

 

M246-479       West O. Tatum
                        Negative Only             B&W               Undated
                        Portrait of West O. Tatum, son of W. S. F. Tatum.
                        (Oversize negative in Box 2, Folder 18)
                        Photographer: Thames Studio, Hattiesburg


Prepared and maintained by
The University of Southern Mississippi Libraries Special Collections
http://www.lib.usm.edu/spcol
118 College Drive #5148   Hattiesburg, MS 39406-5148


Last Edited: Feb 25 2016 09:58:33 AM