Collection HighlightsResearchShowcaseRelated SitesAbout Us  
de Grummond
Children's Literature Collection


The USM Medallion has been presented annually at the Children's Book Festival since 1969. 1998 marked the thirtieth awarding of this medallion; our honoree was author E.L. Konigsburg.

This annual award was established in 1969 to honor an author or illustrator who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of children's literature. The author or illustrator's entire body of work is taken into consideration. Nominations are received from publishers, authors, illustrators, professors, and others interested in children's literature. A committee composed of authors, librarians, and children's literature specialists makes its choices from a ballot consisting of all nominations. A silver medallion with the likeness of the recipient on one side and a representative book character on the other is presented to the winner. Additional silver medallions are struck and retained in the permanent collection housed at the de Grummond Collection. Additional bronze replicas are struck and are available for sale.

The list of recipients, a virtual Who's Who of children's literature, is given below.

1969 - Lois Lenski
1970 - Ernest H. Shepard
1971 - Roger Duvoisin
1972 - Marcia Brown
1973 - Lynd Ward
1974 - Taro Yashima
1975 - Barbara Cooney
1976 - Scott O'Dell
1977 - Adrienne Adams
1978 - Madeleine L'Engle
1979 - Leonard Everett Fisher
1980 - Ezra Jack Keats
1981 - Maurice Sendak
1982 - Beverly Cleary
1983 - Katherine Paterson
1984 - Peter Spier
1985 - Arnold Lobel
1986 - Jean Craighead George
1987 - Paula Fox
1988 - Jean Fritz
1989 - Lee Bennett Hopkins
1990 - Charlotte Zolotow
1991 - Richard Peck
1992 - James Marshall
1993 - Quentin Blake
1994 - Ashley Bryan
1995 - Tomie de Paola
1996 - Patricia MacLachlan
1997 - Eric Carle
1998 - E. L. Konigsburg



The de Grummond Children's Literature Collection
Box 5148
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
(601) 266-4349
Comments and Questions

This page created by Instructional Media Unit Webteam and maintained by de Grummond Collection.
Office of Technology Resources
The University of Southern Mississippi | Last updated .