Collection HighlightsResearchShowcaseRelated SitesAbout Us  
de Grummond
Children's Literature Collection



Since September 1998, we have been busily working on a grant project funded by the National Endowment for the Humanities. The $206,000 grant allowed us to hire a cataloger, a manuscript processor, and a manuscript processor assistant for a period of 18 months. We are processing the manuscript and illustration collections of 150 women authors and illustrators. In addition, the books written by these women will be cataloged.

We were fortunate to hire an excellent staff composed of Billie Hackney, Chris Peters, and Laura Stroud, and they have exceeded our estimates of productivity. At the end of nine months, half-way through the grant period, we have processed 88 of the 150 targeted collections of original materials and have cataloged more than 3,000 books.

The full text of the finding aids generated through this grant appear on our web page. An Archives and Manuscripts format entry also appears in the OCLC database for each of the collections. Bibliographic data for the published books appears in OCLC, also.

Below is a listing of the 88 collections that we have processed thus far:

Sue Alexander
Esther Averill
Alice Cooper Bailey
Natalia Belting
Jan Brett
Katharine Briggs
Emma Brock
Betsy Byars
Mary Calhoun
Eleanor Cameron
Bernice Carlson
Miriam Chaikin
Mary Chalmers
Margaret Goff Clark
Eleanor Clymer
Vicki Cobb
Miriam Cohen
Hila Colman
Molly Cone
Pam Conrad
Barbara Corcoran
Lena de Grummond
Adele and Cateau De Leeuw
Irmengarde Eberle
Louise Floethe
Louise Munro Foley
Genevieve Foster
Dorothy Francis
Rosalie K. Fry
Barbara Garrison

Jean Craighead George
Patricia Reilly Giff
Shirley Glubok
Ada Graham
Dorothy Harris
Kay Haugaard
Barbara Shook Hazen
Suzanne Hilton
Mabel Hunt
Dahlov Ipcar
Bette Killion
Marian King
Lee Kingman
Rita Kissin
R.R. Knudson
Anita Larsen
Betsy Lewin
Claudia Lewis
Maud Hart Lovelace
Alida Malkus
Mickey Klar Marks
Jean Merrill
Gloria Miklowitz
Lillian Morrison
Lynn Munsinger
Barbara Beasley Murphy
Shirley Rousseau Murphy
Beverley Naidoo
Iris Noble
Doris Orgel
Patricia Miles Martin
Dorothy Pantell
Joan Payne
Hazel Rochman
Mary Rodgers
Dorothy Blatter Ross
Susan Sallis
May Sarton
Millicent Selsam
Barbara Seuling
Zoa Sherburne
Katherine Shippen
Dorothy Shuttlesworth
Norah Smaridge
Martha Stiles
Eugenia Stone
Rosemary Sutcliff
Eleanora Tate
Marjorie Thayer
Vivian Thompson
Dorothy Van Woerkem
Gertrude Warner
Erika Weihs
Lisl Weil
Ann Terry White
Paula Winter
Maia Wojciechowska
Jean Day Zallinger



The de Grummond Children's Literature Collection
Box 5148
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
(601) 266-4349
Comments and Questions

This page created by Instructional Media Unit Webteam and maintained by de Grummond Collection.
Office of Technology Resources
The University of Southern Mississippi | Last updated .