Southern Mississippi Home | Facebook
University Libraries Logode Grummond Childrens Collection

University of Southern Mississippi Book Festival Medallions

Leonard Everett Fisher, 1979
This annual award is presented each spring during the Children's Book Festival. It was established in 1969 to honor an author or illustrator who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of children's literature. A committee composed of authors, librarians, and children's literature specialists vote to choose the Award winner. These replica medallions are struck in bronze with the likeness of the recipient on one side and a representative book character on the other.**
1969 Lois Lenski 1982 Beverly Cleary 1995 Tomie de Paola 2008 Pat Mora
1970 E. H. Shepard 1983 Katherine Paterson 1996 Patricia MacLachlan 2009 Judy Blume
1971 Roger Duvoisin 1984 Peter Spier 1997 Eric Carle 2010 David Wiesner
1972 Marcia Brown 1985 Arnold Lobel 1998 Elaine Konigsburg 2011 T. A. Barron
1973 Lynd Ward 1986 Jean Craighead George 1999 Russell Freedman 2012 Jane Yolen
1974 Taro Yashima 1987 Paula Fox 2000 David Macaulay 2013 Jon Scieszka
1975 Barbara Cooney 1988 Jean Fritz 2001 Virginia Hamilton 2014 Christopher Paul Curtis
1976 Scott O'Dell 1989 Lee Bennett Hopkins 2002 Rosemary Wells  
1977 Adrienne Adams 1990 Charlotte Zolotow 2003 Lois Lowry  
1978 Madeleine L'Engle 1991 Richard Peck 2004 Jerry Pinkney  
1979 Leonard Everett Fisher 1992 James Marshall 2005 Kevin Henkes  
1980 Ezra Jack Keats 1993 Quentin Blake 2006 Walter Dean Myers  
1981 Maurice Sendak 1994 Ashley Bryan 2007 Eve Bunting  

**The de Grummond Collection sells replica medallions for the years 1969-2003 ONLY. For medallion orders 2003 to present, please contact the Fay B. Kaigler Children's Book Festival through the School of Library & Information Science at the University of Southern Mississippi.**

ORDER FORM (for check) or ELECTRONIC MARKETPLACE (for credit card)

For more information, contact us.